Space Herrier II and The Sprite Scanline Limit

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

hotrodx
Very interested

Space Herrier II and The Sprite Scanline Limit

Post by hotrodx » Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:23 am

Good day to everyone!

I'm fairly new to SGDK, and currently researching in what the Genny can and cannot do. One thing that intrigued me was displaying large sprites in Space Harrier II. Before, I thought it was just using a PLANE to draw the sprites on, which would explain the choppiness as "sprites" would have been aligned to 8 pixel coordinates. I was thinking that way so that it avoids the sprite scanline limit. But when I checked the layers from Gens Kmod, the sprites were indeed in the Sprite layer.

I think Golden Axe for the Master System probably implemented something similar to go beyond the scanline limit.

How do I achieve the same using SGDK?

P.S. Apologies if this has been asked before, as I don't know what keywords to use for this specific question.

tryphon
Very interested

Re: Space Herrier II and The Sprite Scanline Limit

Post by tryphon » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:48 am

Golden Axe SMS puts sprites in the background IIRC (Space Harrier SMS and Altered Beast SMS too). It can be seen by the fact that the "transparent pixels" around the sprite are opaque.

Is that this effect you want to reproduce ?

hotrodx
Very interested

Post by hotrodx » Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:39 am

@tryphon
Maybe something like it, but not quite. I was just wondering how Space Harrier II was able to pull it off with Sprites instead of the background layer. Was wondering if the Genesis had some sort of "ignore scanline limit if aligned to 8px" for sprites.