Noob questions: DEFINITIVE info about Z80 BUSREQ, RESET?

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

RetroGames
Interested

Noob questions: DEFINITIVE info about Z80 BUSREQ, RESET?

Post by RetroGames » Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:57 pm

Hey folks, total noob here. I'm learning Genny programming with EASy68K and MAME debugger. (Unfortunately, I don't have access to a real Gen/MD at the moment.) I've been following along with the Big Evil Corp tutorials (really nice work on those, Matt!) and MarkeyJester's 68k tutorials (also really nice work, MarkeyJester!) I've also been regularly consulting the Genesis Technical Overview and the 68k Programmer's Reference Manual, and trying to search around Spritesmind for answers to some of my questions. I'm enjoying the process so far, trying to learn as much as I can on my own, but I've got myself all confused about how Z80 BUSREQ and RESET work, and I'm hoping you guys can set me straight.

These are the results of my testing in MAME debugger:

Code: Select all

EntryPoint:						   ; First thing that runs after powering on
 move.b ($00a11100),d5			 ; Get BUSREQ state
 andi.l #1,d5						 ; D5 = 1, MAME memory disassembly says Z80_HAS_BUS flag = 1 (true)
 move.b ($00a11200),d4			 ; Get RESET state, but this doesn't work, it always returns 0
; move.w ($00a11200),d4			; Same thing, it always returns 0
; move.l ($00a11200),d4			; Again, always 0
 andi.l #1,d4						 ; D4 = 0 no matter what, but memory disassembly says Z80_IS_RESET flag = 1 (true)

;-----This part doesn't work. No matter how long I wait, Bit #0 of BUSREQ never becomes 0, and Z80_HAS_BUS flag never becomes 0 (false)-----;
; move.w #$0100,($00a11100)	  ; Write 0100h to the BUSREQ port to REQUEST CONTROL of the Z80 bus
;.LocalLoop1:
; btst #0,($00a11100)			  ; Check Bit #0 of the byte at the BUSREQ port
; bne .LocalLoop1				   ; Loop until Bit #0 of the byte at BUSREQ = 0, then we control the bus