Genesis/Mega Drive rebuild project

For hardware talk only (please avoid ROM dumper stuff)
uprock7
Interested

Genesis/Mega Drive rebuild project

Post by uprock7 » Thu May 02, 2013 5:39 pm

I was recently inspired by low_budget's super 8 NES rebuild project and Id like to rebuild a genesis myself. After spending time doing research over the last few weeks, I believe I would have to base my design off V0/V1/V2 model 1 designs because I dont believe I can source any of the ASIC's sega used in later board revisions. I have a computer science degree and enjoyed circuits classes and labs, so I think this would be a fun little project for me.

For the first version of the rebuild my main goals are to achieve perfect game compatibility, clear full stereo sound with the YM2612, cxa1645 s-video out, redesign of the power circuits, compatibility with 32x, sega cd, and sms power base.

Other than sourcing out obsolete IC's are there any other difficulties you guys might foresee?

djcouchycouch
Very interested

Post by djcouchycouch » Fri May 03, 2013 1:06 am

Are you looking to make a production of it or just the one?

Not knowing anything about electronics, how about HDMI instead of s-video?

uprock7
Interested

Post by uprock7 » Fri May 03, 2013 3:20 pm

for the first build id rather stick to just composite/svideo out. im not entirely familiar with the genesis VDP or HDMI encoding IC's to really make it happen right now. if anything, id like to add a SD card slot for loading software. maybe on a v2 or v3 HDMI might be a possibility. But getting the first version working is the first step.

im also not concerning myself about building consoles for other people right now. depending on how difficult it is to acquire IC's and putting everything together, it might not be realistic to sell them to others.

Anyone know anywhere I could purchase the VDP, bus arbiter, and I/O IC's?

inu
Very interested

Post by inu » Thu May 09, 2013 12:17 pm