Anyway to a MultiGame cartridge ?

For hardware talk only (please avoid ROM dumper stuff)
bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Anyway to a MultiGame cartridge ?

Post by bastien » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:22 pm

Hi :D
I want to make a multi-game cartridge for sega genesis.
I think i will make it with an Eprom type 27c322 (4Mo).

I have already make a lot of home-made cartridge based on real Genesis PCB with a pirated roms in an Eprom, for exemple this :

Image

Image

Image

( i have made another of it : Monster World IV Fr , Phantasy Star III FR , ect .... )

but now i would make a multi-game cartridge.

So My question is
do you have a rom with a special menu for it ?

or is it possible to use bankswitch method with the reset button for changing game ? ( do you have a shema or a method ).

That's all for now and oh excuse my bad english :lol:

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:09 pm

I've seen unlicensed multi-game cartridge for SMD with meny only once, all other (tons of) multi-game carts had game switching by reset.

I don't have ready-to-use schematic, but it must be very simple - couple of triggers or binary counter (depends from how many games you need to switch), input to reset, outputs to top address lines of the ROM. It is about 1-2 low-intergration ICs.

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:28 pm

ok thanks for the answer .
i want switch 4 game so 1 per Mo ( 1-1-1-1) for 32Mbit.
i have found this :

http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/gen ... t_cart.png

but it's for flash 2x 512k..

can you draw me a little shema ? :wink:

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:38 pm

You could do almost the same, except you should use two outputs of 74LS90 instead of one. As you can see, it first output (QA) goes (through jumper) to A18, thus every reset switches between top and bottom half of the ROM. 2x512K does not matter, these are 8-bit ROM's, so you can think about them as single 512 16-bit KWords.

As you want to have four games, you'll need to connect QA and QB of 74LS90 to two higher A lines of your ROM. Size and type of ROM does not matter. In this case every reset will switch between four parts of same size of the whole ROM.

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:04 pm

ok but for adapt an Eprom 27c322( for 32 MBit game 4x1Mo ) i already use A18, A19 and A20:

Image

-A18 ---> cartridge B7
-A19 ---> cartridge B8
-A20 ---> pin5 74HCC00 ( for game with Sram ) or B9 cartridge

:evil:

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:14 pm

Without SRAM you need to simply disconnect A19 and A20 of ROM from any other lines, and connect them (A19 and A20) to 74LS90 outputs. With SRAM it is more difficult, can't answer without having the schematics how the SRAM connected (never actually looked into that).

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:31 pm

i think i will make one without Sram for the beginning.
ok if i draw a shema you can talk me if it's correct ?

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:20 pm

Yes, no problem.

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:49 am

question :D
do i need to redirect a thread: cartridge port to Multigame cartridge for the "reset" ?
or i can adapt just a classical sega cartridge ( 40 or 42 pin maskrom) ?

here is my first shéma but i have made nothing for the reset button ...:

Image

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:23 pm

Shiru ?
could you help me ? :oops:

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:49 pm

Sorry, missed your answer.

Didn't get your question, though. Pin 14 of 74LS90 should be connected with B27 of the cartridge slot. I don't know what the classical sega cartridge is, the original cartridges were uncommon here, and they were of all sorts (J,U,E, etc).

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2279
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:05 am

if I have a bunch of tiny games, I'd have a game selector, and I'd use the !Time singal to manage stuff... of course it will mess everything up if a game thingks it needs to use SRAM :P
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:00 pm

Shiru wrote:Sorry, missed your answer.

Didn't get your question, though. Pin 14 of 74LS90 should be connected with B27 of the cartridge slot.
Hmm ok but if i put my thread is it ok ?:

Image

So Pin14 74LS90 to the B27 connector of the PCB
I think there is no more différencies between JUE PCB just the game in the Maskrom are différent.
And sure for An Sram game the schema isn't correct :D

Are you Ok with this ?

Image

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Fri Nov 06, 2009 3:25 am

You making an Reset based switching multigame cartrige? Ok, I'll help you.
First, you choosed 74xx90 for switching high address bits. It is an BCD counter and you do not properly set it's operational mode. It countains one separate trigger, wich has CLK input (CKA) and output (Qa) and 3-bit counter, wich has input (CKB) and three outputs (Qb, Qc and Qd).
Second, there 2 types of reset signals: R0.0 + R0.1 (logical AND) and R9.0 + R9.1 (logical AND). R0 sets counter to 0 (all outputs sets to 0) and R9 sets it to 9 (Qa=1, Qb=0, Qc=0 and Qd=1). So, to allow counter step up on every CLK high-to-low change you must connect R0 and R9 to ground (GND).
Third, with your schema you will never get Qb changes, becouse it not belong to CKA input. So, you must connect CKB to Qa, or use CKB as input and Qb + Qc as high address signals.

I hope it helps you.
Example 1:
14 => B27
12 => 1
12 => A19
9 => A20
5 => VCC
2 => GND
3 => GND
6 => GND
7 => GND
10 => GND

Example 2:
1 => B27
9 => A19
8 => A20
5 => VCC
2 => GND
3 => GND
6 => GND
7 => GND
10 => GND

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:02 am

Ok

First thank you very munch for helping me hardware Man :D :

but i have a little thing i don't understand :

-I want to use an Eprom type 27c322 and for put this in the original PCB i must redirect A18 ( to B7) , A19 ( to B8 and to pin 12 exemple 1 ) and A20 ( to B9) but i also must use this pin for make the reset based switching multigame cartrige...

-
HardWareMan wrote:
Example 1:
14 => B27
12 => 1
12 => A19
9 => A20
5 => VCC
2 => GND
3 => GND
6 => GND
7 => GND
10 => GND

Example 2:
1 => B27
9 => A19
8 => A20
5 => VCC
2 => GND
3 => GND
6 => GND
7 => GND
10 => GND
Thanks you very much for your exemple is it for 4x 1Mo ?

Excuse me for my bad english , and another thanks for help me.

Finally i will remake my shéma so i think this is correct for the 4x1Mo with a switch per 1mo ( four 1Mo game ):

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests