Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

Post Reply
User avatar
ArcadeTV
Interested
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:37 am
Location: DE
Contact:

Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Post by ArcadeTV » Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:02 pm

Hi guys,

I started my take on a translation for Wonder Boy V / Monster World III and no problems so far.
This is my latest build: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zj6dlzvoyrzao ... 5.bin?dl=1

My perception of the logo in the title screen is that it doesn't represent the MW identity, so I took the graphics for an upgrade using the same palette and arrangement as seen in the JP version of the game.
eu_us.png
eu_us.png (8.37 KiB) Viewed 158 times
jp.png
jp.png (8.22 KiB) Viewed 158 times
>>
new.png
new.png (241.09 KiB) Viewed 158 times
So far so good and absolutely doable for a asm-rookie like me.

Now it turns out that the US/EU version displays the tiles for the logo in a different arrangement - so tiles I would need to replaced are not filled.
I replaced some tiles with numbers to see how they get arranged by the routine:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/40luqc99gi1h ... kDx1a?dl=0

I suspect there is a script for this, similar to their text-engine:
While using breakpoints for "reading" in GENS and comparing the DIFF between the US/EU rom and the derivate Turma da Monica na Terra dos Monstros (Brazil) I see something that looks like the right hole to dig, but I don't understand what the bytes do.

Around $1B640 is one block, from $7300 is another that I suspect to be responsible for the arrangement of the title screen.


If you have loaded up my current rom, you'll notice that I replaced the SEGA logo with a nice MW30th Anniversary graphic.
The other thing I would like to accomplish is doubling the sega-logo-routine and changing it to show my graphic after the SEGA and then enter the title screen menu.


If anybody feels like helping me out with this, you might like something in return...
Well, today is the release day of "Monster Boy and the cursed Kingdom" which is the latest addition to the MONSTER WORLD saga.
I'll be happy to buy this game for the system of choice for anybody who helps me solve my problem.

Thanks guys!

User avatar
Miquel
Very interested
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:33 am

Re: Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Post by Miquel » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:14 am

Script to do something that's done once or twice? why do you believe so? Unless all the game is scripted makes no sense to me.

User avatar
ArcadeTV
Interested
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:37 am
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Post by ArcadeTV » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:31 am

I'm not an expert, I just try to get along with Gens ShellMod, Exodus and very little IDA. What I see is something similar how the text engine works so I thought it kinda make sense..

I could use a hint or two to understand how the logo is being displayed.

User avatar
Sik
Very interested
Posts: 730
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Post by Sik » Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:54 pm

Miquel wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:14 am
Script to do something that's done once or twice? why do you believe so? Unless all the game is scripted makes no sense to me.
I mean, I've done it a lot of times when the effort to do it manually was still higher (or more tedious, which is a very good way to get distracted and never finish).
ArcadeTV wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:31 am
I could use a hint or two to understand how the logo is being displayed.
There's probably some tilemap stored in the ROM (besides the graphics themselves), likely compressed.
Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".

User avatar
ArcadeTV
Interested
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:37 am
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Post by ArcadeTV » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:12 pm

Sik wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:54 pm
There's probably some tilemap stored in the ROM (besides the graphics themselves), likely compressed.
That's the kind of hints I was hoping for. Thanks!
Is there something I could read to understand stuff like that?

User avatar
Miquel
Very interested
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:33 am

Re: Need help with tile-generator-script in Wonder Boy V/MW III

Post by Miquel » Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:23 pm

Sik wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:54 pm
Miquel wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:14 am
Script to do something that's done once or twice? why do you believe so? Unless all the game is scripted makes no sense to me.
I mean, I've done it a lot of times when the effort to do it manually was still higher (or more tedious, which is a very good way to get distracted and never finish).
Writing a script machine easier than two loops... I'm begging to wander in what planet you are. oh! common you have to tell us! Give us a hint at least: When you look around you what do you see: magma, plasma, water or air?

I have asked them repetly how their programing languages work. Not much success so far, can you help me in this endeavor?
Sik wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:54 pm
ArcadeTV wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:31 am
I could use a hint or two to understand how the logo is being displayed.
There's probably some tilemap stored in the ROM (besides the graphics themselves), likely compressed.
In those cases could be that having a map is contra productive because it could waste more space than having some repeat tiles, and when compressed those repeated tile become very small.
Instead I would search for:
- the code that copies the tiles to vram
- the code that builds the map on vram OR the one that copies it
that’s a more certain bet.

Edit:
Oh my God! Sik, are you the one who is flashing? Because after this message someone is!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests