[MD] Chase (Homebrew)

Announce (tech) demos or games releases

Moderator: Mask of Destiny

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

[MD] Chase (Homebrew)

Post by nolddor » Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:06 pm

Hi guys, I hope you like and you enjoy playing!

Image

Information:

· Project Name: Chase
· Code by: Jack Nolddor using SGDK
· Music / SFX by: Davidian aka "David el Murciano" using Deflemask Music Tracker
· Genre: Arcade
· Serial Nº: JN-20140714-02

Digital download & Source Code available in:
- Official Website -

Play in your browser:
- Chase on ssega.com -
Last edited by nolddor on Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

haroldoop
Very interested
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:04 pm
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil

Post by haroldoop » Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:51 pm

Nice game!

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3037
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:10 am

Very well done nolddor !
The game is really polished :)
Did you sorted the white line problem by the way ?

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

Post by nolddor » Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:53 am

no at the moment T_T

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3037
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Wed Aug 06, 2014 9:50 am

is it related to CRAM writing ?

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

Post by nolddor » Wed Aug 06, 2014 9:53 am

I don't know, i need to do some test yet, but i think is related to use setpalette function or fade.

VDP_clearplan isn't the problem, i think...

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3037
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:55 am

Yeah i think so, as i told you, updating CRAM during active period is the problem, so before any setPalette call you should do a VDP_waitVSync().
Palette fading methods do it for you.

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

Post by nolddor » Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:02 pm

I'll try to use ( VDP_waitVSync(); VDP_setPalette(); ) instead of only ( VDP_setPalette(); ) this afternoon and I'll tell you the results.

But i think i've made this test before w/o success.

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3037
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:04 pm

Give it a try, i think it will help ;)

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

Post by nolddor » Wed Aug 06, 2014 2:36 pm

Yes, Im right.

I've just put a VDP_waitVsync() before all my VDP_setPalette() functions and the problem continues.

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3037
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:07 pm

err, sad :-/ can you eventually make a picture of the problem ? it would really help me to understand what happen.

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

Post by nolddor » Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:46 pm

Check out this!
I hope to can be useful for you


PICTURES: [IMG1] [IMG2] [IMG3]
VIDEO: [LINK] ( You can see white dots bug in frame numbers: 66, 73 and 345 )

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2392
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Wed Aug 06, 2014 10:59 pm

These are midframe CRAM accesses. You can see same stuff in waterline of Sonic games for example.
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3037
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:09 am

Thanks for the pictures and the video ! So now i can definitely confirm you these are the famous CRAM dot accesses i was speaking about... mean you access CRAM in active period. Actually a lot of games suffers from this problem and don't really care but if you really want to remove them then just don't change CRAM in active period (only during vblank, then dot appears at bottom).

nolddor
Very interested
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:35 pm
Location: Spain

Post by nolddor » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:58 am

OK thanks for the advice i'll try to remove those dots i don't like seeing it jaja

Post Reply