why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

Post Reply
alko
Very interested
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Russian Federation

why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by alko » Sat May 12, 2018 6:06 pm

why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Image

Image

and

Image

Image
Image

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3131
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Re: why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by Stef » Sun May 13, 2018 11:25 am

You are calling SPR_clear() before SPR_init(..) ?? you should not do that ^^
Also initializing sprite engine means you reserve a part of VRAM to it and maybe you don't have enough VRAM to load the image then.

alko
Very interested
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Russian Federation

Re: why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by alko » Sun May 13, 2018 8:00 pm

Stef wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 11:25 am
You are calling SPR_clear() before SPR_init(..) ??
but how to clean up the sprites after previous scene?...
In addition, this does not affect the result in my case.
Image
Also initializing sprite engine means you reserve a part of VRAM to it and maybe you don't have enough VRAM to load the image then.
I tried different variables in function SPR_init. :cry:
Image

alko
Very interested
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Russian Federation

Re: why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by alko » Mon May 14, 2018 7:45 pm

Solved:
called function SPR_end() after SPR_init ()
Image

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3131
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Re: why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by Stef » Mon May 14, 2018 10:07 pm

SPR_end() just after SPR_init() ?? you mean when you don't need it sprite engine anymore ? Calling SPP_end() means you close the sprite engine... if you just want to reset it you can replace SPR_end() / SPR_init(..) by SPR_reset() / SPR_clear() sequence which is faster :) Also you may try the new SPR_defragVram() method (only on github currently), it can be useful when you do a lot of add/release sprite sequence.

alko
Very interested
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Russian Federation

Re: why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by alko » Thu May 17, 2018 5:46 pm

Stef wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 10:07 pm
SPR_end() / SPR_init(..) by SPR_reset() / SPR_clear()
all the same image are not loaded. :?
Image

Stef
Very interested
Posts: 3131
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Re: why does not load large image after sprites initialization?

Post by Stef » Fri May 18, 2018 3:09 pm

I think you should investigate about VRAM usage looking into Kmod or other emulators providing VRAM view, difficult to say what is happening exactly here...

Post Reply