Sozobon source code changes?

Talk about development tools here

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

plee
Very interested
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:32 am
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Sozobon source code changes?

Post by plee » Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:14 pm

If you want, I can post the source code. ( if I can find it :D )

I think it might be a problem with your startup.s file, maybe deleted a space in the "title" area? thus throwing off the offsets.

neozeed
Interested
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:29 am
Location: hong kong
Contact:

Re: Sozobon source code changes?

Post by neozeed » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:59 am

plee wrote:If you want, I can post the source code. ( if I can find it :D )

I think it might be a problem with your startup.s file, maybe deleted a space in the "title" area? thus throwing off the offsets.
If you can find it, that'd be very interesting, and cool as I wanted to run this in a super restricted environment.

I'll have to check startup.s !!

neozeed
Interested
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:29 am
Location: hong kong
Contact:

Re: Sozobon source code changes?

Post by neozeed » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:50 am

It can't be the startup code, as the only difference in the toolset is the linker.

my rebuild of HCC/TOP/JAS + the 'segald' give a working exectuable, while mine has the stack in the wrong place.

While messing more in ld I did notice this in endsyms:

Code: Select all

endsyms()
_etext 15B0:A2
_edata 15D0:A4
_end 15D4:A1
end_sym("_edata", textsize+datasize, (F_DATA|F_GLBL|F_DEF));
Which makes sense why my LD is placing stuff at 0x0015d0 while segald is placing them at 0xff0000

Code: Select all

00000325: 00 FF
00000326: 15 00
00000327: D0 00
0000059F: 00 FF
000005A0: 15 00
000005A1: D0 00
000005A5: 00 FF
000005A6: 15 00
000005A7: D0 00
so obviously the data segment needs to be mapped much much higher.

Post Reply