GensKMod on Git

Talk about development tools here

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

GensKMod on Git

Post by KanedaFr » Mon Sep 02, 2013 3:24 pm

I plan to release Gens KMod on some BitBucket .

I'm currently no longer able to update it but I see a lot of useful gens hack all over the web (video record or GDB stub or no longer 16bit only patch are the most useful I would love to see on KMod)

My goal is to enable all of you to add your own feature.
I'll still be the one to valid pull request but no time for pure coding session :(

What do you think ?
Last edited by KanedaFr on Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:23 am, edited 2 times in total.

Graz
Very interested
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:36 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Post by Graz » Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:43 pm

If you put it up on BitBucket, I will port everything I've done of use (including the GDB stub) out of my local copy into the official tree.

User avatar
Stef
Very interested
Posts: 2782
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:20 pm

I think you can at least put it on GitHub, then free to everyone to contribute then :)

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:47 pm

Graz wrote:If you put it up on BitBucket, I will port everything I've done of use (including the GDB stub) out of my local copy into the official tree.
It's more than enought to motivate me !
Cleaning the code for upload in progress !!!

User avatar
MintyTheCat
Very interested
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by MintyTheCat » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:40 am

KanedaFr wrote:
Graz wrote:If you put it up on BitBucket, I will port everything I've done of use (including the GDB stub) out of my local copy into the official tree.
It's more than enought to motivate me !
Cleaning the code for upload in progress !!!
That's excellent news. I use GensKMod as my main Emulator along with MESS for MD development but it is in real need of bug-fixes and some features added - great.

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:19 pm

wow! it's so strange to read code I wrote +6years ago ! :)

Hopefully, I wrote some comments !

coming soon :)

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:23 pm

Is there some beta testers to tell me if this works :

https://bitbucket.org/SpritesMind/gensk ... nch/vs2012

It works on my station but....I'll never be sure with nasm and VStudio

djcouchycouch
Very interested
Posts: 676
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

Post by djcouchycouch » Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:55 pm

I spent some time on this but was unable to confirm if it works or not. I muddled my way through getting git to work, then I got to the point where I needed to install VS2012 Express but it won't install in a Windows XP machine. Sorry!

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:48 pm

KanedaFr wrote:Is there some beta testers to tell me if this works :
It works, if you mean after compilation.
But it is way far from one click build...
I spent some hours to build it in VS2010.
Mostly amazing errors:
1) "Can't open .\Debug\\.obj" (from linker)
cause: $(OutDir)\$(InputName).obj%(Outputs)
instead: $(OutDir)%(Filename).obj;%(Outputs)
2) "LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'LIBC.lib' "
Project Settings->Linker->Input->Ignore Specific Default Library needs to set to LIBC.LIB

Code bugs:
1) ggenie.c line 147: char code_to_pass[16], *x;
x must be const char *; just redefine into const char *x;
reason: line 177 of same file.
2) kailleraclient.h
functions like this
DLLEXP kailleraGetVersion(char *version);
does not have return type. just add void before.
3) Starscream compiles perfectly in Visual Studio but... you can build Debug version, and release .exe file in starscream does not created.

And, .bat files does not create directory Release, so nasm output:
NASM wrote:nasm: fatal: unable to open output file `..\..\..\Gens\release\main68k.obj'
ahaha quote of lulz

4) after these fixes, only one thing left: fix paths to libs :)

EDIT: I don't want to change this mod. I tried to build it just to write feedback.
I'm updating Gens-rerecording now, and I have my mod too :D
Image

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:47 pm

you took the master branch, not the VS2012 branch ;)

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:10 pm

indeed... I can make VS2010 project too, but not now, and I don't want to install VS2012
Image

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:19 am

I finally merged the vs2012 branch.

For people who want the source without using git, here is the direct download link
https://bitbucket.org/SpritesMind/gensk ... master.zip

djcouchycouch
Very interested
Posts: 676
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

Post by djcouchycouch » Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:28 pm

Do you have any interest in converting the rendering to use OpenGL or something like SDL or cocos2dx?

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:53 am

it would be a great thing since I really would like to get ride of this 16bit-color depth only issue
but it would require a lot of work :(

User avatar
Aly James
Very interested
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Post by Aly James » Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:04 pm

I tried to built it today with the last VS2012
I planed to mess with the YM2612 / PSG debug screens :)

build succeed but (I haven't touch anything yet) when I load a ROM it starts with the Z80 disabled and more strangely the YM2612 channel 6 is muted, when I reactivate it, it also activate the screen-shot on every frame feature witch make the sound really lag of course.
I will check it out in the code when I got some time :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests