Page 6 of 8

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:22 pm
by r57shell
Line 296:

Code: Select all

$image->Remap(image => $colorsimage);

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:24 pm
by Ti_
r57shell wrote: What you mean? What source and what properties of this image? Is that true, that each tile uses only one palette?
Why you asking? You know all about this pic, it even was made in your program.
Of course it 1-layer, each tile use only it's row.

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:27 pm
by r57shell
I just thought that it's some image better than output of my program. :) Because, I tried to see output with 60 colors = 4 rows, and output was different.

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:33 pm
by frederic
r57shell wrote:Line 296:

Code: Select all

$image->Remap(image => $colorsimage);
Oh, sorry. You're right. I looked at it again and did not see this. The images are quite different (worse, I'd say) with this bug corrected. I'll do some tests to see what to do (to transform the bug into a feature or to correct it and change other things).

(Maybe we should talk about my script in the topic dedicated to ImageMagick in order not to hijack sega16's thread too much)

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:43 pm
by Ti_
r57shell wrote:I just thought that it's some image better than output of my program. :) Because, I tried to see output with 60 colors = 4 rows, and output was different.
I have a slightly better image with additional layer to this pic. (color count same, just for remove artifacts)
2layers.png
2ndlayer.png

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:49 am
by r57shell
scolorq lab 15 genesis colors. I think, it's impossible by hands :S
Image Image

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:36 am
by Ti_
r57shell wrote:scolorq lab 15 genesis colors. I think, it's impossible by hands :S
Now I see, it's look much good, than RetroGfx output. ([s]retro loses green color of grass[/s]).
2) it can't make 4 rows for this pics (makes only 3), and increase of color count will not add green.

I will try your and Frederic utilities.

oh. It was only in old version. New version actually no lose green.
RetroGFX 16 colors with dither
Image

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:39 am
by r57shell
scolorq does not support tiles depended palettes. I mean, any tile can use any color.

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:30 pm
by Orion_
I tried to convert the image using my method:
Image
4 palettes, 40 colors, R3G3B3

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:50 pm
by r57shell
Good result. What is your method? I see ordered dithering.

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:01 pm
by Orion_
I use Ximagic plugin to convert the colors to 9bits (RGB333)
http://www.ximagic.com/cd_index.html
There are plenty of configuration to change the dithering pattern.
Then I use a professional tool to generate the 4 palettes and tile repartition. (can't post this one sorry)

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:49 pm
by r57shell
Interesting way. I will try ordered dithering.
Orion_ wrote:Then I use a professional tool to generate the 4 palettes and tile repartition. (can't post this one sorry)
Even name? :)

Meanwhile: viewtopic.php?p=20213#20213

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:07 pm
by sega16
I have just added support for scolorq and now am using ciede2000 for some nearest color calculations (slows down dithering but increase quality by abit)
The image on the left is the dithered image that scolorq outputs. The image on the right uses the same palette but is dithered with the standard floyd stienberg algorithm.
ImageImage
I also updated the windows binary and the source code as usual the links are the same.

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 6:58 am
by Ti_
Orion_ wrote:I use Ximagic plugin to convert the colors to 9bits (RGB333)
http://www.ximagic.com/cd_index.html
There are plenty of configuration to change the dithering pattern.
Then I use a professional tool to generate the 4 palettes and tile repartition. (can't post this one sorry)
For what reason you can't post this? Don't want? :)
Image looks very good!
Can you make this image with palettes to see how colors are sorted, or make a test ROM?

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:28 pm
by r57shell
Orion_ wrote:I tried to convert the image using my method:
First of all, palette not MD.
Ok, now same way but with ImageMagick
From left to right: original, Orion_ version, Orion_ version in MD pal, ImageMagick two versions made by me.
Image Image Image Image Image