Bugs ?

Talk about development tools here

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Bugs ?

Post by KanedaFr » Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:06 pm

Be free to add here the bug you got with KMod

Please follow this template


Tool & version : ex GensKMod 0.5
Windows version : ex XP SP 2 fr (include language)
Country settings : ex Japan
CD Bios used for this country : ex Mega CD BIOS V2.00 (E).bin or jp_mcd1_9111.bin (if needed)
Others config : ex Spy activated
Description : ex bad colors

I'll try to resolve them ;)
Please don't ask for new features, it's only for BUG

Kaneda
Last edited by KanedaFr on Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2285
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:35 am

Gens KMod version : 0.5
Windows version : Win98SE 4.10.2222a, with unofficial SP 10, english
Country settings : J,U,E
Description : instant crash if Alien3 is loaded (This game does DAC and 6th FM ch at the same time, maybe that's why).
Last edited by TmEE co.(TM) on Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

GrayLight
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Russia, Krasnodar

Post by GrayLight » Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:57 pm

Tool & version : GensKMod 0.6
Windows version : XP SP 2 ru
Country settings : J,U,E
Description : Debug->Layers "Show Layer B" checkbox switches ALL layers (even Sprites), uncheck makes all invisible or, sometimes, leaves some "garbage"..
p.s. Sorry, if my english is not well... )

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:52 am

GrayLight wrote:Tool & version : GensKMod 0.6
Windows version : XP SP 2 ru
Country settings : J,U,E
Description : Debug->Layers "Show Layer B" checkbox switches ALL layers (even Sprites), uncheck makes all invisible or, sometimes, leaves some "garbage"..
p.s. Sorry, if my english is not well... )
someone can confirm this ???
do you have this problem on a special game or all the games ?



ps: no problem for the english, I use the same ;)

GrayLight
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:29 pm
Location: Russia, Krasnodar

Post by GrayLight » Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:29 pm

I've used this roms:
Phantasy_Star_II_(UE)_(REV_02)_[!]
Landstalker_-_The_Treasures_of_King_Nole_(U)_[!]

..With KMod_05 layers debug works fine..

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:32 pm

it seems the way I handled shadow broke some stuff :(
sorry for that, I'll fix it soon

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2285
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:29 pm

KMod 0.6 VDP tile scroller shows incorrect address
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

User avatar
Stef
Very interested
Posts: 2619
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:36 pm

Tool & version : GensKMod 0.6 beta (with DAC update rate feature)
Windows version : XP SP 2 fr
Country settings : US
Description : keys respond problems -->
When i open some debug window (as YM2612 one), it looks that after sometime GensKMod doesn't reply to key events and seems somewhat freezed (but it isn't).

By the way, your "DAC update rate" is very usefull when you code some Z80 driver for DAC playing, i encourage you to keep this feature in future version ;)

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:41 am

TmEE co.(TM) wrote:KMod 0.6 VDP tile scroller shows incorrect address
are you sure ?
I fixed it because it was already wrong so I don't want to come back to my first version...

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:42 am

Stef wrote:Tool & version : GensKMod 0.6 beta (with DAC update rate feature)
Windows version : XP SP 2 fr
Country settings : US
Description : keys respond problems -->
When i open some debug window (as YM2612 one), it looks that after sometime GensKMod doesn't reply to key events and seems somewhat freezed (but it isn't).
when you activate a window, the key events aren't send to Gens main window...
are you sure it's not that ? I ask because I often made the mistake ;)
By the way, your "DAC update rate" is very usefull when you code some Z80 driver for DAC playing, i encourage you to keep this feature in future version ;)
it's still here ;)

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2285
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:28 pm

KanedaFr wrote:
TmEE co.(TM) wrote:KMod 0.6 VDP tile scroller shows incorrect address
are you sure ?
I fixed it because it was already wrong so I don't want to come back to my first version...
I scrolled down to the last row and the address was 5D0
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

User avatar
Stef
Very interested
Posts: 2619
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:59 pm

KanedaFr wrote:
Stef wrote:Tool & version : GensKMod 0.6 beta (with DAC update rate feature)
Windows version : XP SP 2 fr
Country settings : US
Description : keys respond problems -->
When i open some debug window (as YM2612 one), it looks that after sometime GensKMod doesn't reply to key events and seems somewhat freezed (but it isn't).
when you activate a window, the key events aren't send to Gens main window...
are you sure it's not that ? I ask because I often made the mistake ;)
Yeah i know but even wit focus on the Gens main window, keys aren't always handled...

By the way, your "DAC update rate" is very usefull when you code some Z80 driver for DAC playing, i encourage you to keep this feature in future version ;)
it's still here ;)
good new :D

User avatar
KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:56 pm

Stef wrote: Yeah i know but even wit focus on the Gens main window, keys aren't always handled...
I'm unable to make this bug...
perhaps it's the latency....I got key respond problem when some debug windows are opened : I need to keep my keypress ;)
sorry for that but as I said since the first version, KMod isn'"t suitable for games play :)
I scrolled down to the last row and the address was 5D0
VRAM idx is now the tile number not the VRAM adress...
it was requested so I changed it
I'll give it another look....

User avatar
Stef
Very interested
Posts: 2619
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: France - Sevres
Contact:

Post by Stef » Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:06 pm

KanedaFr wrote:
Stef wrote: Yeah i know but even wit focus on the Gens main window, keys aren't always handled...
I'm unable to make this bug...
perhaps it's the latency....I got key respond problem when some debug windows are opened : I need to keep my keypress ;)
sorry for that but as I said since the first version, KMod isn'"t suitable for games play :)
Thanks for taking time to examine it. I was using key just for testing purpose so that's not so problematic ;)

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:00 am

Emulator: see below.
Windows: does not matter.
Here is the problem:
1: GENS's debugger wrong decodes ORI.W and some other opcodes.
2: I found a bug in emulation M68K in MOVE.L (A0)+,D1. First time it's work fine, after some calculations it's read garbage in D1, but A0 is still correct. MOVE.B (A0)+,D1 works perfectly. Here source, that not working:

Code: Select all

           move.l      #$FF0000,d2     *
           move.l      d2,a1           *
           subq.l      #1,d0           *
BuildLn:   clr.l       d1
           move.l      (a0)+,d1        * << Here is buggy command
           move.w      #39,d2          *
BuildLp:   move.b      (a0),d3         *
           cmp.b       #0,d3           *
           beq         BuildSkp        *
           move.b      (a0),(a1)+      *
           addq.l      #1,a0           *
           bra         BuildFin        *
BuildSkp:  move.b      #$20,(a1)+      *
BuildFin:  dbra        d2,BuildLp      *
BuildZer:  move.b      (a0),d3         *
           cmp.b       #0,d3           *
           beq         BuildNxt        *
           addq.l      #1,a0           *
           bra         BuildZer        *
BuildNxt:  addq        #1,a0           *
           move.l      d1,(a1)         *
           add.l       #24,a1          *
           dbra        d0,BuildLn      *
If I replace that command this:

Code: Select all

           move.b      (a0)+,d1        *
           rol.l       #8,d1           *
           move.b      (a0)+,d1        *
           rol.l       #8,d1           *
           move.b      (a0)+,d1        *
           rol.l       #8,d1           *
           move.b      (a0)+,d1        *
All works perfectly. I'd made some tests and here is result:
Test passed emulators:
DGen v1.21
Fusion v3.51
Megasis v0.06a
Test not passed emulators:
Gens32 Surreal v1.7
Gens32 (Gens v2.10)
Gens32 V2.26
Gens v2.12a KMod 0.7b
Gens v2.11
Gens+ v0.0.3.38
GensD (Gens v2.10)
So, it seems this is "Gens" only problem in M68K emulation code.
Test ROM you can get here.
PS. That command loads melody pointer. If it buggy, then melody can not be played correctly.
PPS. Can you do something with that terrible 16bit screen mode? That screen flashes is killing me... (Gens32 use 32bit screen mode) :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest