Using 32x as a 3rd plane, possible?

Ask anything your want about the 32X Mushroom programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

Post Reply
User avatar
Miquel
Very interested
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:33 am

Using 32x as a 3rd plane, possible?

Post by Miquel » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:40 pm

1) What I want to do is:

- MD/Genesis works as you expect, as it is alone (no exception table differences, for example)
- if MD detects 32x:
-----> 32x is initialized, a program is uploaded along some graphics
-----> All 32x does it wait for a word (command) to display this or those other screen
- MD runs the main program as there was no 32x, but if there is, sends the appropriate command for this stage, changing the optional 3rd layer

Is that possible? Work alongside the 32x but without interfering a normal MD program in any way.

2) Could 32x do transparencies? For example to do shadows, that is, taking the MD-VPD output and making it darker on certain areas.
(24 hours ago:) More flashes! This time from the Moon, no less. Who are they? (their body isn’t blue)

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2329
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Re: Using 32x as a 3rd plane, possible?

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Fri Apr 12, 2019 6:54 pm

32X output can only be above or below MD layer, it cannot do intermediates. Only way you could do some shadowing etc. is to render the output of MD itself on 32X side and apply whatever you want.

As far as other stuff goes, no, you cannot really do that. 32X changes the memory map drastically, at best you need a 2in1 game, one that works on vanilla MD and other that works as 32X game.
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

User avatar
Miquel
Very interested
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:33 am

Re: Using 32x as a 3rd plane, possible?

Post by Miquel » Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:48 pm

TmEE co.(TM) wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 6:54 pm
32X output can only be above or below MD layer, it cannot do intermediates. Only way you could do some shadowing etc. is to render the output of MD itself on 32X side and apply whatever you want.
I was thinking something like "Crusader of Centy"/"Solei" when the clouds obscure the scenario but are not visible themselves. Zelda for GBA also does that.
(24 hours ago:) More flashes! This time from the Moon, no less. Who are they? (their body isn’t blue)

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2329
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Re: Using 32x as a 3rd plane, possible?

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:07 am

Soleil does checkerboard pattern which you could do on the 32X too, but you're not gonna get any real shadow/highlight type stuff without recreating the MD image on 32X side.
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest