VGM music maker and samples

For anything related to sound (YM2612, PSG, Z80, PCM...)

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

Fernando

VGM music maker and samples

Post by Fernando » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:35 pm

Hello. I'm Fernando, 20 years old, electronics student from argentina. English is not my native language, so sorry if I commit mistakes.

It's been a while since I found about SGDK and this wonderful community. I love the genny and programming (but I'm not an expert, just some basic, visual basic and C), so I think is perfect for me. I decided to register since I have the next problem, and couldn't find the solution for myself:

Lately I've been trying to start composing using Shiru's VGM Music Maker (having some success even when I'm not a musician at all), and I already have made some songs. The problem is that when I export them to the VGM format and try to use them in SGDK with the SND_startPlay_VGM function, and play the resulting rom in Gens Kmod or Kega , it doesn't play the samples, so I loose all my percussion. I know for the Green Hill Zone sound example included in SGDK that playing samples with that driver is possible, but I don`t know how to do it.

I would really appreciate your help!
Maybe when this little problem is solved I can share some of my creations with you!
Thanks a lot for reading me.

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:16 am

Hi Fernando :)

Welcome on the board, hope you will enjoy the place ! It's always a pleasure to see new Genny developer =)

I'm not 100% sure of that but i heard that Shiru's VGM maker tool produce VGM with missing enable DAC command so PCM are not played on the VGM driver. I wonder if you can somehow patch the VGM file to add the "enable DAC" command before playing ? Something you can try is to do "manual" DAC enable command on YM2612 after manual loading of the VGM driver :

Code: Select all

// load VGM driver
Z80_loadDriver(Z80_DRIVER_VGM, 1);

Z80_requestBus(1);
// enable DAC
YM2612_enableDAC();