Horizontal Interrupts & Rasters

For anything related to VDP (plane, color, sprite, tiles)

Moderators: BigEvilCorporation, Mask of Destiny

elusive
Very interested

Horizontal Interrupts & Rasters

Post by elusive » Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:10 am

Hi everyone, I'm somewhat new to programming for the Genesis/Mega Drive (about a year or so with programming for it), and I'm trying to expand my knowledge a bit, and having a hard time finding information and tutorials on a few things.

First, I'm programming in BEX (I know, I know, no flaming please ;) ) and I can understand C/C++ code, and I'm absolutely horrible at learning ASM (at least from reading the few tutorials I've found anyway).

Anywho, onto some questions:

I've been trying to learn how to do some raster effects (like in Rocket Knight Adventures, Batman and Robin, etc), with screen distortions and warping tiles (tilting/rotating), but I honestly have no idea where to start.

I know for the screen distortion in Rocket Knight Adventures (you know, when you're running away from the fire that gets shot out of the right side of the screen), you need to set the HBLANK to 0, and call a routine for the H Interrupt.

Whenever I enable the HBLANK, my controller routines stop (I'm assuming this is because it takes a higher precedence over the VBLANK and that's what controls the controller inputs?).

Does anyone know of any tutorials that will help with rasters (and possibly how to efficiently use the scroll modes) and proper ways to utilize the HBLANK Interrupts?

Thanks!

Charles MacDonald
Very interested

Re: Horizontal Interrupts & Rasters

Post by Charles MacDonald » Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:42 am

Whenever I enable the HBLANK, my controller routines stop (I'm assuming this is because it takes a higher precedence over the VBLANK and that's what controls the controller inputs?).