Noob, nub, however you want to pronounce it

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

Jedite01
Interested

Noob, nub, however you want to pronounce it

Post by Jedite01 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 12:14 am

Hi, I am Jedite01. (Aka newest guy here, and that's appropriate) :?

I am here for various reasons, but instead of sounding professional and boring I will just say; I would *like* to produce Sega Genesis/Megadrive games, and I put 'like' in little asterisks (Or asterixs, whatever) b/c I have no previous training with Sega Genesis/Megadrive coding, whatsoever...

However I do have experience in one field, and that is Graphical Art. I have been a graphical artist (or trying to be) for awhile, and I know several techniques that I use to produce Genesis graphics... And I am used to drawing with few colors. 16 colors in a palette out of 4 is enough.

What I do know:
The Sega Genesis/Megadrive is a 16-bit console, capable of some things the SNES isn't (Sound synthesis?). Art is tiled in 8 x 8 tiles (I think) and are allocated 16 colors. There are 4 palettes of 16 different colors, making 64 colors out of 512 (Aka RGB 9-bit) The FM chip (I forget the technical name) has 7 channels (Or was it six :shock: ), one of which can play mono PCM samples... And that's close to the end of it.

To rephrase this whole paragraph(s), I would like to learn how to program Sega Genesis/Megadrive games and learn how to program certian VDP features, such as a ray-casting engine or even a simple polygon engine. (I think the Megadrive is capable of polygons. I have read threads where people talked about it, and I think Ranger X uses one?) So can any one help me out?

koilazka
Interested

Post by koilazka » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:10 am

cool.. what programming languages do you know, or are willing to learn?

KanedaFr
Administrateur

Post by KanedaFr » Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:36 am

Hi,
welcome here.

You have several ways, from easiest to hardest :