How do I compile something here? [solved]

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

O'Kyle

How do I compile something here? [solved]

Post by O'Kyle » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:41 am

Hi, everyone.

I'm new at gen dev and I'd like to make at least some "Hello world", "Hi, mom.." "Is there anybody out there?"

I'm reading some docs for some time now.

First of all I prefer to use linux, so I compile a gcc only for make m68k stuff (gcc-m68k-coff) and it took me some time... After that I got some srcs but I couldn't compile it because I didn't have gen dev pack or any genesis.h and all other things..

I have tried some .s too.

Spending some time on linux and discovering this site, I decided to migrate to windows.

I have done everything Stef said on that tutorial about installing her devkit and code::blocks but when I compile her demo (that one making white dots jumping on screen) the file created by the compiler and linker is different from the original one. Starting from start hehe

the header does not seem to be the header...
"SEGA GENESIS (C) 2009 ........... "
this string is far beyound it was supposed to be..

can someone help me???

I prefer to use linux if possible...
Last edited by O'Kyle on Thu Aug 13, 2009 3:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Stef
Very interested

Re: How do I compile something here?

Post by Stef » Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:49 am

O'Kyle wrote:Hi, everyone.

I'm new at gen dev and I'd like to make at least some "Hello world", "Hi, mom.." "Is there anybody out there?"

I'm reading some docs for some time now.

First of all I prefer to use linux, so I compile a gcc only for make m68k stuff (gcc-m68k-coff) and it took me some time... After that I got some srcs but I couldn't compile it because I didn't have gen dev pack or any genesis.h and all other things..

I have tried some .s too.

Spending some time on linux and discovering this site, I decided to migrate to windows.