How I can get started learning C and the SGDK?

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

scythe&GenGames

How I can get started learning C and the SGDK?

Post by scythe&GenGames » Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:56 pm

I have no experience of C but I'm willing to try my hand of getting to know about C code and how it works so I can work on making my SEGA Gen Games, as I would love to get Scythe & Genesis Games out of the hiatus and get many games in.

As I journey to make a homebrew game I would like to use the Sonic 2 engine and put in my own twist to it as it contains my own Sonic 2 version of the Music engine as well...as it's needed for many games. - So how I can start getting into C that's needed for SGDK and whip out Sega Gens games?

PS:I may do a special game for someone I know as long I provide betas to the game and I don't need to worry about any payments needed for the usage of characters.

themrcul
Very interested

Re: How I can get started learning C and the SGDK?

Post by themrcul » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:34 am

Hi Scythe,
Have you programmed in any language before? Or are you looking to learn your first programming language?

I'm no expert, but my suggestion would be to learn C programming independently from Mega Drive games development. Once you are proficient in C programming, then try working with an established 2D library for PC, like SDL. Only after you are confident in both those areas would I recommend to try your hand at Mega Drive games development.

The reason is, C programming is complicated enough. Tackling what is essentially embedded level games development requires more than just programming language knowledge.

When I learnt programming, my first language was C. I first learnt how to some simple Windows Command console text games, then moved on to SDL to learn the basics of 2D graphics.