M68k opcode sizes test ROM

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

notaz
Very interested
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 11:58 pm
Location: Lithuania

Re: M68k opcode sizes test ROM

Post by notaz » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:37 pm

I'd say there is no benefit of handling warm boot differently in a test like this, unless you want to also test effects of reset.

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: M68k opcode sizes test ROM

Post by r57shell » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:09 pm

I just put common MD initialization, so I thought flashcart should not have any issues with it, because it runs many games very well which has similar MD initialization.

Here is test new version: http://www.mediafire.com/file/jl2227tc4 ... s_test.bin
Tell me if it fails or success.
It works under megaeverdrive1 md2 asia pal
Image

User avatar
Sik
Very interested
Posts: 591
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:03 pm
Contact:

Re: M68k opcode sizes test ROM

Post by Sik » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:03 pm

Checking for warm boot is only useful for like when games want to keep the options and high scores after pressing Reset (so you can skip reinitializing those). Otherwise you're better off not doing a special case for it.
Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".

notaz
Very interested
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 11:58 pm
Location: Lithuania

Re: M68k opcode sizes test ROM

Post by notaz » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:46 pm

r57shell wrote:
Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:09 pm
Here is test new version: http://www.mediafire.com/file/jl2227tc4 ... s_test.bin
Tell me if it fails or success.
It's fine now on MED but on raw flashcart it still black screens ~80% of the time.

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: M68k opcode sizes test ROM

Post by r57shell » Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:45 am

here also without bne.s start: http://www.mediafire.com/file/46op66mkn ... _test1.bin
notaz wrote:
Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:46 pm
It's fine now on MED but on raw flashcart it still black screens ~80% of the time.
I remember once my test ROM was failing because of bug in flashcard with size alignment.
So, if without bne.s start doesn't still working, try align size with zeroes up to 1 MB, and so on, and see what happens.
Also, make sure it's aligned to 65 kb at least, because even under emulator it will fail if not aligned to 65 kb because it actually access that part of zeroes!
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests