Help I am new and afraid of words

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

Cherry_Balloon

Help I am new and afraid of words

Post by Cherry_Balloon » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:04 am

Hello all! This place looked really neat, so I thought I'd ask a couple of questions.

I'm a newbie to the programming world, and I can't for the life of me seem to get started. I really wanna delve into this strange, exciting world but every time I look at some tutorial or book it seems to assume I'm to know about all this special computer terminology.

Adresses, opcodes, stack pointers, mirroring, all these magic worlds make me dizzy. I can understand basic concepts like moving data from point A to point B, but other than that I'm completely lost.

Can someone please help me start from the ground up? Maybe point me somewhere? Thanks in advance, I'd really appreciate it!
weew weew

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:10 am

Hello Cherry_Ballon,

Programming is a big word, here we speak mainly about programming on old system as the Sega Genesis. For that type of system you don't have many choice about the programming language: assembly, C or basic.
It's already quite comfortable to be able to code in C and even basic ;)
Are you specifically interested in programming on the Sega Genesis ?
Honestly that is not the easiest platform to start with :-/

Cherry_Balloon

Post by Cherry_Balloon » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:25 am

I'm very much interested in Sega Genesis programming and development. I understand it's probably not the easiest way to start out programming, but I'm very interested and I think it'd be a cool way to start.

I've already started reading up on C, and a little bit about assembler too. Haven't given much thought to Basic, though.
weew weew

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:36 am