Starting out with SMD dev. Best compilers etc?

Ask anything your want about Megadrive/Genesis programming.

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

POLYGAMe
Very interested

Starting out with SMD dev. Best compilers etc?

Post by POLYGAMe » Sun Apr 14, 2013 1:26 am

Hi everyone,

Obviously I'm a noob here and I'm wanting to get started on game dev for the Mega Drive (with the intention of producing physical carts, further down the line).

I have been developing games for a few years and really want to branch out into older hardware.

I haven't studied up on ASM at all but will probably endeavour to do that at some stage, but until then, what's the best way to go around designing games in C/C++? There seem to be a few options!

Basically whatever's easiest to set up and get running and has good documentation. I downloaded SGDK and have no idea how to install it... lol... any links on how to do this?

Or are there any "one stop" solutions? There are a couple of devkits for Commodore 64 that have sprite editors and music creators as well as code editors. Anything like that for SMD?

Any info greatly appreciated!!!

Cheers,

Karl.

djcouchycouch
Very interested

Re: Starting out with SMD dev. Best compilers etc?

Post by djcouchycouch » Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:43 am

POLYGAMe wrote:Hi everyone,

Obviously I'm a noob here and I'm wanting to get started on game dev for the Mega Drive (with the intention of producing physical carts, further down the line).

I have been developing games for a few years and really want to branch out into older hardware.

I haven't studied up on ASM at all but will probably endeavour to do that at some stage, but until then, what's the best way to go around designing games in C/C++? There seem to be a few options!

Basically whatever's easiest to set up and get running and has good documentation. I downloaded SGDK and have no idea how to install it... lol... any links on how to do this?