ROM vs RAM

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

themrcul
Very interested

ROM vs RAM

Post by themrcul » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:22 am

Hi all,
I'm sorry to ask what is probably such a stupid question, but I am very new to all this!

I am wondering what the rules around modifying global variables in code are.

I have set up a synthetic test which declares a string in global space like this:

Input.c:

Code: Select all

char variable[] = "blah";
Then later, in an Update() function, I modify the string by setting it's contents like this:

void Update()
{
	if (joystate & BUTTON_A) 
	{
	variable[2] = 'a';
	variable[3] = 'h';
	}
}
In another update function, I am printing the variable to screen with:

VDP_drawTextBG(PLAN_A, variable, 1, 15);
It works.
The string updates on the screen. But I was under the impression that all of the code is stored in ROM, and would therefore not be modifiable?

Do I need to declare this variable in RAM by calling malloc() and setting the returned contents to the string I want for modifyable variables? Or is it ok to modify any global variable once the game starts, and it be ok as in my test?

The reason I am asking is because I am exporting sprite definitions into .c files and want to export most of it's data in tact, but want to set function pointers into them at runtime. Is that possible? Or do I need to malloc the size of memory needed to hold the sprite definition, set the data into that malloced memory and go from there?

I would really like to just set the data into the variable directly without mallocing everything but want to make sure I am doing the right thing before everything explodes!

Thanks guys.

Grind
Very interested

Re: ROM vs RAM

Post by Grind » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:57 am

All global variables are loaded into RAM unless they are declared const. If you are using SGDK the boot/sega.s file loads that stuff for you on startup or a hard reset.