Something that seems impossible to do in C

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

tryphon
Very interested

Something that seems impossible to do in C

Post by tryphon » Wed Mar 23, 2016 9:27 pm

I'm studying how to optimize "dynamic" sprites (sprites whose patterns are dynamically loaded in VRAM at each frame).

Shadow Dancer uses a list of VDP commands, stored in ROM. For example, for Musashi at address 0x1ADA6, you'll find :

Code: Select all

0003 // number of chunks of commands
9330 9400 9580 96C9 977F 74000083 // chunk 1
9380 9400 95B0 96C9 977F 74600083 // chunk 2
9300 9401 9530 96CA 977F 75600083 // chunk 3
The 93xx 94yy give the number of patterns and the 95aa 96bb 97cc give the address in ROM (or RAM in this case, because Musashi patterns are Nemesis compressed, but it's not the case of the ennemies) where the patterns are stored. The last long word activates the DMA and give the VRAM pos. For Musashi, the VRAM loation is always the same but for ennemies the command long word is adjusted at runtime according to the ennemy slot.

These commands are then sent to the VDP control port during VINT. I find it clever and fast.

I want to do the same with my SGDK-written engine but I encountered an unexpected problem.

When I want to generate the command table, I first declare my patterns array :

const u32 patterns[] = {
    0x00024666,
    // ... some 100ths of lines
};
Then I declare my command table (for the sake of simplicity, there will be only one entry of length 1) :

const u16 temp[] = {
    0x9370, 
    0x9400, 
    0x9500 + ((patterns >> 1) & 0xFF), 
    0x9600 + ((patterns >> 9) & 0xFF), 
    0x9700 + ((patterns) >> 17) & 0xFF)
};
I get an error at compilation time :

error: invalid operands to binary >>
error: initializer element is not constant
or, if I cast patterns as a u32 :

warning: initializer element is not computable at load time
error: initializer element is not computable at load time