C optimizations

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

tryphon
Very interested

C optimizations

Post by tryphon » Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:11 pm

Hi,

since my game engine performances doesn't satisfy me yet, I try to optimmize it.

I'm studying my code to identify algorithmics problems (such as collision tested twice, or innefficient data types).

Then come the C optimizations. I've read some articles on the subject, all with valuable tricks, but I've a lot of questions about them. So I'll ask those in this thread, and I start by some little things (there should be more in the future) :

1) is inline keyword useful ? For code clarity, I have some functions that are very simple and short, and it'd be more efficient to inline them. I thought the compiler would do it automatically but it doesn't seem to be the case. Should I declare these functions as inline, or must I use macros ?

2) is register keyword useful ? then again, sometimes the compiler doesn't use register for local variables.

3) I have many code that look like this :

Code: Select all

void my_function() {
    if (condition) {
        // do some stuff
    }
}

// some code

my_function();
I've realized that it's faster when I write :

void my_function() {
    // do some stuff
}

// some code

if (condition) my_function();
I think the subroutine call must be quite heavy. But otoh it's bad style. Is there a clean way to handle that ?

Stef
Very interested

Re: C optimizations

Post by Stef » Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:37 am

tryphon wrote: 1) is inline keyword useful ? For code clarity, I have some functions that are very simple and short, and it'd be more efficient to inline them. I thought the compiler would do it automatically but it doesn't seem to be the case. Should I declare these functions as inline, or must I use macros ?
Unfortunately GCC 3.4.6 (the binary version included in SGDK) is affected by a bug that make method inlining optimization to never work (or almost) so you'd better to use macro here.