Play wav music and sound effect

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

dub
Very interested

Play wav music and sound effect

Post by dub » Sat Oct 24, 2015 3:48 pm

Hi, I want to play music and sound effect in my game but I'm a really bad artist (gfx or music).

So I'll use wav music with loop. I've read the rescomp file and import my wav file (51 sec) after a update (8bit unsigned mono 8khz).
My file size is good : 400 ko and nice when listening. I could insert 6 music files and some sound effect.

But, before I begin to modify your sample sound, I have one question. I play my music file with the drivers 0 (8 bits 8khz single channel PCM driver).

Can I use at the same time this driver for playing music, and another driver to play sfx ?
I don't think it's possible, but I'm not sure.

If I change my outrate to 16khz, my file is nearly two time more big. It's not bad but I'll need a 64MB rom. Can we have more than 64MB rom ?

MrTamk1s
Very interested

Re: Play wav music and sound effect

Post by MrTamk1s » Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:36 pm

You should be able to use the XGM Driver's x4 PCM mixer for this. Play the .wav song loop on one PCM channel, and use the other x3 for sfx.
SGDK homebrew dev and Unity3D Indie dev.
Sega does what Nintendont!

dub
Very interested

Post by dub » Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:20 pm

Thanks I test it with Z80_DRIVER_4PCM

Works well, I use a 16KHz fmusic file.
So do I need to align my wav file to 256 or 128 or it's automatic ? with the app sizebnd -262144

And I have another questions. :wink:

Can I create a 8MO (64Mb) rom with sgdk. The rom crash on KFusion if I create a rom larger than 4Mo ?
Can I create a ROM with dynamic option: If SegaCD in, I play music on CD, but if there is no SegaCD, I play music from the cart ? And can sgdk play music from CD, I didn't find info or how do that ?

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Sun Oct 25, 2015 10:08 pm