VGM driver slow?

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

MrKsoft

VGM driver slow?

Post by MrKsoft » Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:58 pm

Hi, I'm just getting into playing with SGDK. To practice, I've made a simple text based program that lets you choose between two VGMs to play.

Anyway, I noticed that as soon as more than a few channels start playing, the music doesn't run at full speed any more. I was just wondering if this is normal (since it's totally possible that processing VGMs is too much for the Genesis, or the driver isn't optimized yet), or if I'm doing something wrong. Would I be better off using an alternate driver?

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:18 pm

Unfortunately this is the only available VGM driver in SGDK.
You have to know the driver was wrote in C and work on the Z80 cpu so it is definitely not optimized and so you can experience slowdowns when playing heavy VGM file. Did you try to "optimize" your VGM file (thre are tools for that) ? sometime it can help :)

MrKsoft

Post by MrKsoft » Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:12 pm

I totally understand, and actually figured that was the case. They are optimized VGMs, so it looks like I won't get getting it any faster. No problem though, I can just use something other than VGM. It was just a test, anyway.

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:16 pm

VGM is a handy format for tons of reasons even if it is defenitely not the best one in term of size and processing. It would be nice to have a fast VGM Z80 driver in SGDK, that is definitely something i would like to try when i will have some time to spent on that ;)

Chilly Willy
Very interested

Post by Chilly Willy » Fri Feb 28, 2014 10:56 pm

I'll work on an assembly Z80 VGM driver this weekend.

Stef
Very interested

Post by Stef » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:14 pm

Oh really ? this is a good :) do you eventually plan to sort of SFX support (PCM format) as the current C version ? it would be nice to have it as well =)

r57shell