Examples of using Echo with SGDK?

SGDK only sub forum

Moderator: Stef

S. P. Gardebiter

Examples of using Echo with SGDK?

Post by S. P. Gardebiter » Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:50 am

Hello,
I'm trying to figure out how to make Echo work with SGDK and it's certainly not easy. Trying to include and compiling it is not easy as well, not only the missing stdint.h is causing trouble but I get weird compiler errors when I include it (for example .h files from recourses suddently do not recognise the datatype "u8"). Also all these C abstractions like void pointers sometimes give me headaches as well, in my opinion pointers are a lot easier to use in assembly because there is not so much stuff going on in the background.
I'm still relatively new to SGDK but I wanted to start with the sound/music because I tought that this field is usually causing the most trouble (and I was right). I can't use SGDKs internal drivers because they're just too slow for my needs (I need PCM for the drums because otherwise they sound horrible), I'm stuck with MIDIs here and there is only a midi2vgm converter (VGMGen) and nothing else.

If someone could link me to a tutorial, give me an example or explain this stuff to me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Also, please note that I'm not trying to programm a demo or anything, I'm trying to make a game.

djcouchycouch
Very interested

Post by djcouchycouch » Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:12 am

These might be helpful to you, when I was working with SGDK+Echo:

viewtopic.php?p=16160

This is a post where I listed the steps involved in getting data into Echo:

viewtopic.php?p=16104#16104

S. P. Gardebiter

Post by S. P. Gardebiter » Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:59 am

I already read some of your threads, when I was searching for a solution before. :)
Didn't help me though.

Code: Select all

#define uint8_t u8
#define uint16_t u16
#define uint32_t u32
#define int8_t s8
#define int16_t s16
#define int32_t s32