So... how does it run on your system?

Official support forum for the Exodus Emulation Platform

Moderator: Nemesis

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Fri May 03, 2013 4:56 pm

Shadow wrote:I found really hard game. :P

Warsong - 40-110fps, in gameplay every few seconds game freezes at short time.
On my system this game don't drop below 85 FPS. :P It has 95 FPS average. But since I don't like such games I don't test it long time. Just couple minutes of ingame.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Shadow » Fri May 03, 2013 6:10 pm

HardWareMan wrote:On my system this game don't drop below 85 FPS. :P It has 95 FPS average. But since I don't like such games I don't test it long time. Just couple minutes of ingame.
Very weird, i have speed drops at this part:

Image

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Sat May 04, 2013 3:11 am

I don't know why. Need more time for research.

***

OK, at my work computer there are freezes every second (or so, when squares change the color). Sound freeze too. Average 76 FPS.
Image
This happen when game update this VDP area:
Image

Eugene.S
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 10:20 pm

Post by Eugene.S » Sat May 04, 2013 10:28 pm

Hi
I'm using Windows XPx64 SP2
I've installed Visual C++ 2005 SP1 x64 runtime but emulator doesn't work:
Image
I put dwmapi.dll (taken from Win7) into emulator folder, \system32 and \SysWOW64 and registered it: cmd - <regsvr32 dwmapi.dll>
But it doesn't help

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Post by King Of Chaos » Sun May 05, 2013 12:04 am

That error tells me the chances of Exodus working on XP x64 is slim to none (even though the system requirements say Windows XP or above), you'll probably need Vista x64 and higher (preferably Windows 7 x64).

User avatar
Huge
Very interested
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:50 pm

Post by Huge » Sun May 05, 2013 2:49 am

King Of Chaos wrote:That error tells me the chances of Exodus working on XP x64 is slim to none
The chances of *anything* working on XP x64 are slim to none. That OS was barely supported by anyone, plus it's close to a decade old now.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Shadow » Sun May 05, 2013 5:10 am

Very odd, i just uncheck HT cores in task manager for Exodus and got big speedup on DirectColor-DMA test. (29-32fps)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmPNeXsy ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Sun May 05, 2013 8:18 am

Shadow wrote:Very odd, i just uncheck HT cores in task manager for Exodus and got big speedup on DirectColor-DMA test. (29-32fps)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmPNeXsy ... e=youtu.be
I did same thing and get FPS slightly drop down.
Image
Maybe this thread analysis can help. This one does emu stuff:
Image
And what does this one?
Image

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Sun May 05, 2013 3:44 pm

Big slow down when dump all possibilities of YM2612:
Image

User avatar
Huge
Very interested
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:50 pm

Post by Huge » Sun May 05, 2013 6:04 pm

HardWareMan wrote:Big slow down when dump all possibilities of YM2612:
Image
I imagine that would be limited by your drive speed, not cpu power. Have you tried it on a SSD?

Firebrandx
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 7:54 pm

Post by Firebrandx » Sun May 05, 2013 11:35 pm

I get a white screen on the image window, though everything else (including sound) seems to work fine.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Shadow » Mon May 06, 2013 12:58 am

HardWareMan wrote:And what does this one?
dunno..
Huge wrote:I imagine that would be limited by your drive speed, not cpu power. Have you tried it on a SSD?
This is not a HDD problem, i tried it on my SSD, average speed 26 fps.

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Mon May 06, 2013 2:51 am

Huge wrote:I imagine that would be limited by your drive speed, not cpu power. Have you tried it on a SSD?
OK, let's see. 5 threads for one channel. 6 channels and one master out. So we have 5*6+1=31 threads. Output format is 44100/16/2 that require 172,2KBytes/s. In result: 31*172,2=5340,2KBytes/s or 5,2MBytes/s. Do you still believe that is not enough the regular HDD? This speed is smaller than can done my UDMA33 HDD 10 years ago.

panzeroceania
Interested
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 4:02 am
Location: Salem, OR

Post by panzeroceania » Mon May 06, 2013 6:51 pm

King Of Chaos wrote:That error tells me the chances of Exodus working on XP x64 is slim to none (even though the system requirements say Windows XP or above), you'll probably need Vista x64 and higher (preferably Windows 7 x64).
Is there any reason it would run differently on vista 64 vs. 7 64?

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Post by King Of Chaos » Mon May 06, 2013 9:03 pm

Not really, but generally people prefer Windows 7 over Vista. Same many prefer 7 over 8.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest