Surface errors?

AamirM's Regen forum

Moderator: AamirM

Post Reply
DeraGarm99
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:00 am

Surface errors?

Post by DeraGarm99 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:07 am

I tried to load the regen emulator on an older win 95 with 512 meg and I get an error message "unable to create secondary surface" I've no idea what this means, I've used Regen on many many machines and it loaded with no problems, some of them quiet old. So what happened here? I've managed to use Regen on a cpu with 128 meg. Any ideas how to fix this?

Chilly Willy
Very interested
Posts: 2493
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:33 pm

Post by Chilly Willy » Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:23 am

Well, first, this should probably be in the Regen forum. Second, sounds like the version of DirectX on the system might not be what the emulator requires.

I.S.T.
Interested
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:20 pm

Post by I.S.T. » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:02 am

Regen needs DX7 or higher.

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2285
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:22 am

Yea, this is a DirectX error, but from the sound of it, it seems the video card doesn't have enough VRAM or lacks some feature, but you may also have some too old DX version. I don't remember what is the last DX you can install on Win95, for 98 it is 9.0c
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

Eke
Very interested
Posts: 820
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:57 pm
Contact:

Post by Eke » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:11 pm

I think it already happened to me when loading Regen while Kega was already running :wink:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest