Regen 0.972 and 0.972D

AamirM's Regen forum

Moderator: AamirM

tomaitheous
Very interested
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:10 pm

Postby tomaitheous » Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:58 pm

Gigasoft: Same happened to me. But the problem for me, was that I wrote SEGA to the TMSS port without checking the status port for TMSS. Regen debugger didn't like this. Caused it to do some weird stuff like crash, constantly pop up the 68k debugger window, not display anything, etc.

Patrick
Interested
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:33 am
Location: Brasil

Postby Patrick » Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:55 am

Hi :)

I think i found something

I can't save in srm files, only save State. I am playing Phatasy Star 4.

Thank you by keep this console live, and sorry my english.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Postby Shadow » Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:24 pm

Patrick wrote:Hi :)

I think i found something

I can't save in srm files, only save State. I am playing Phatasy Star 4.

Thank you by keep this console live, and sorry my english.


This is known issue, game show two saved games and they can't be load...

I found new problem: new hack Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 not work on Regen 0.972 i've tryed to enable largerom=1 from ini file, but not work...

Gigasoft
Very interested
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:24 am

Postby Gigasoft » Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:29 pm

Well, Phantasy Star 4 uses a special I/O port to switch between SRAM and ROM, so that's probably unimplemented.

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Postby AamirM » Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:35 pm

I can't save in srm files, only save State. I am playing Phatasy Star 4.

Thanks for the report, I'll check out the problem soon.

I found new problem: new hack Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 not work on Regen 0.972 i've tryed to enable largerom=1 from ini file, but not work...

Yes, its not supposed to work, sorry about that.

Sasha
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:22 am
Location: Russia

Postby Sasha » Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:39 am

I find minor bug in Auto detect region

After some games like a Thunder Force 4 (J)
Mortal Kombat 3 (U) show "not compatible region"

http://radikal.ru/F/i063.radikal.ru/100 ... 8.jpg.html

After Mega Drive roms, GameGear roms load 5-10 seconds.

On Hq4x Regen crash.

By clicking on empty spaces of cheat dialog window Regen crash:

http://radikal.ru/F/s43.radikal.ru/i102 ... 1.png.html

Sram issues with: Beyond Oasis, Holyfield Evander, Micro machines 2 turbo tournament, Micro machines millitary, and some others...

Changing keys may cause to hang window, but if you remap all keys without see anything, window work again and controller remapped on new keys...

In volume levels of YM2612 and PSG button "Cancel" accept changes!

http://radikal.ru/F/s47.radikal.ru/i116 ... 6.jpg.html

High Seas Havoc on first screen with green emerald, music play too fast during few seconds:

http://radikal.ru/F/s005.radikal.ru/i21 ... 6.jpg.html

I use these setups in Video Options:

http://radikal.ru/F/i072.radikal.ru/100 ... a.png.html

And when apply "stretch" i got this:

http://radikal.ru/F/s005.radikal.ru/i20 ... b.png.html

I can fix this by "off" Output 4:3 Aspect, but it quite annoying, because i use Output 4:3 Aspect in Mega Drive games.

Found a reproducible way to crash Regen.

1) Make sure you have this archive which contains a cheat file and a SRAM file and rename them to your Sonic 3 & Knuckles ROM and put them in the appropriate directories.

2) Load Sonic 3 & Knuckles and enable the Rings Modifier to 50 rings, and enable all five Disable Super/Hyper Music cheats.

3) Play the last save slot with Knuckles with all the emeralds, and choose act 1.

4) When the level starts jump in the air to attempt to transform into Hyper Knuckles but Regen will crash because of the enabled codes.


Yes Regen crash on this cheat.

Next very hidden bug in interface, we just leave "OFF" Show FPS, run game and enter to fullscreen, now press Ctrl+F and Show FPS work, now return to window mode and we see no check box marked, but Show FPS work:

http://radikal.ru/F/s001.radikal.ru/i19 ... 4.png.html

"Disable Screensavers" not work on Windows 7, it still show screen savers when Regen run game.
Last edited by Sasha on Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Postby Shadow » Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:35 pm

Lowpass filter cause distortions in some very high frequences...
Last edited by Shadow on Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Sasha
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:22 am
Location: Russia

Postby Sasha » Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:56 pm

Hello everyone :wink:

P.S King of Chaos, forget my joke, okay this is was fun :)
Last edited by Sasha on Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:18 am, edited 14 times in total.

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby King Of Chaos » Fri Feb 19, 2010 11:50 pm

My BS sense is tingling.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Postby Shadow » Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:48 pm

Lowpass filter + Overdrive in some games like in Sonic the Hedgehog 3 (Ice Cap Zone) when Sonic picks rings, SFX of rings slightly distorted, but in Kega Fusion i can't find these distortions...

Hmm strange today i tryed run Blades of Vengeance, but it show black screen, i run another games, i exit from emulator, after few minutes i run Regen again, and run Blades of Vengeance, and game run perfectly...
Last edited by Shadow on Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby King Of Chaos » Sun Feb 21, 2010 6:43 pm

It's more noticeable because of the overdrive option, but otherwise sounds more or less correct here.

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Postby Shadow » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:55 pm

I found my console :P

She was official Model 1.01 - Japanese Sega Mega Drive II for region Europe, for example it close to this thing:

http://forums.sega.com/showthread.php?t=309146

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sega_Mega_Jet#Japan_2

Added new info:

And final hit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fw6la-2vIcQ

I found in Youtube very detailed record with difference between Model 1 and Model 2, yep Model 2 most weird thing, i hate clear treble from Model 2! my sound is more blurry and melodic :P
Last edited by Shadow on Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:40 am, edited 8 times in total.

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby King Of Chaos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:10 pm

That's a model 2, which isn't what emulators like Regen and Kega aim to emulate.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sega_Mega_ ... Mega_Drive

User avatar
Shadow
Very interested
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:13 am
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Postby Shadow » Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:37 pm

AamirM

I already emulate my console on Regen 0.972, i need Mono in ini file for 100% emulation (currently only 90% without Mono)

RetroRalph already added this feature, and i want it in Regen too :wink:

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby King Of Chaos » Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:25 am

Okay? I'm sure there's other important stuff needed for Regen first.


Return to “Regen”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest