Old Regen pages

AamirM's Regen forum

Moderator: AamirM

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Postby AamirM » Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:59 am

Hi,

Okay, the new beta is ready. I want the fullscreen support tested for any bugs. Also test out the new aspect correction option. Many sound related fixes were made so check them out as well. Download from here. Comments, bugs (except VDP related :) ), suggestion etc.. are welcomed.

stay safe,

AamirM

Zoomer
Interested
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:48 pm

Postby Zoomer » Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:38 pm

Great, Aamir. Going to test it now. One question - is that multithreaded version? I mean for core2duo :)
ok, the full screen mode works great. No problems on windows vista/windows xp :)
One request I also want to add - please do some monitor selection in settings. So people can select on wich monitor regen should go fullscreen. It'll be useful if someone have an old tv connected to computer (me for example, hehehe) Congrats with another release, keep up good work! :)

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Postby AamirM » Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:23 pm

Hi,

No, its not the Core2 version.

stay safe,

AamirM

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 265
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby King Of Chaos » Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:19 pm

I've decided to make another release of the package with everything you'll need to run Regen right off the bat, this time for v0.93 Beta 3.

Stuff included in this package are;

-Latest Regen test executable (v0.93 Beta 3).
-Required Fonts folder and makefile executable, to prevent crashes and to allow you to customize the fonts.
-Updated Readme and History files (which are updated for v0.93 Beta 3).
-Updated Cheats files, for those whom could use them.
-All working rendering plugins 2X and below.

Notable changes are;

-Added Regen v0.93 Beta 3 executable.
-Added AamirM's updated NTSC plugin.
-Edited some cheat files and removed old ones.

Download: Regen v0.93 Beta 3

User avatar
Nemesis
Very interested
Posts: 670
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Nemesis » Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:08 am

I've found a bit of a glitch when changing between fullscreen mode and windowed. If you have the Regen window as a floating window (not maximized) and you change to fullscreen mode, then back again, everything works fine. If you have the Regen window maximized however, then you change to fullscreen mode and back again, the Regen window reappears in the place and size it was before you went to fullscreen mode, however the window is no longer counted as maximized. Instead, the normal window has taken the position and size of the maximized window, which messes up the non-maximized window dimensions.

I don't know if I explained that very well, but try switching to fullscreen and back again when the Regen window is maximized and you should see what I mean.

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Postby AamirM » Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:41 pm

Hi,

Re-uploaded the beta 3 with the sound fixes. Please re-download from the link given in my original beta 3 post. Hopefully King will make the new package. :)

@Nemesis:

Bug noted. Though I haven't fixed it yet. But will do it in the final release.

stay safe,

AamirM

User avatar
King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 265
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby King Of Chaos » Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:47 pm

Package is updated...

Download: Regen v0.93 Beta 3 (Release 2)

Many thanks to Nemesis for his YM2612 findings. :)

deniseweird
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:47 pm

Postby deniseweird » Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:49 pm

This emulator looks very promising! :D Could you port it to Haiku? (http://www.haiku-os.org/)

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Postby AamirM » Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:53 am

Hi,

Sure I'll port if SDL and C library is available. And what should I download exactly. I mean to not run on VMWare or something.

stay safe,

AamirM

deniseweird
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:47 pm

Postby deniseweird » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:37 am

Great! :D Well, since you're making a GNU/Linux port, I guess you have that installed. What distro are you using? If you're using Ubuntu, there are simple instructions for building Haiku through Ubuntu here:

http://www.haiku-os.org/documents/dev/b ... ep_by_step

Just follow this guide until you come to step 6. Step 6 is only relevant for making a vmware image, which you don't want. So skip step 6, and continue with this guide:

http://www.haiku-os.org/documents/dev/i ... from_linux

I am not sure what the C library is exactly, but Haiku has GCC and SDL. It is GCC2.x though, so I hope there will not be too much trouble porting.

Here you can get some extra packages:

http://www.haikuware.com/view-details/s ... aiku-ports
http://www.haiku-os.org/development

Thanks, and good luck! :D

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2245
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Postby TmEE co.(TM) » Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:24 pm

The bug that the game window was 7 pixels higher on my PC turned out to be a GFX card or its driver issue... I got another mobo and another cards into my work PC and things work fine, but looks like Regen does not support 15bit color depth (the ATI Rage3D 2+ in the PC works on this in 16bit mode...). The card has too little memory to have 1280x1024 and some higher color depth...
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Postby AamirM » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:30 pm

Hi,
Great! Very Happy Well, since you're making a GNU/Linux port, I guess you have that installed. What distro are you using? If you're using Ubuntu, there are simple instructions for building Haiku through Ubuntu here:

I am using Fedora Core 7. It seems it has all the things I need. Now lets hope thay my video and sound card (both onboard on intel915) are supported.
The bug that the game window was 7 pixels higher on my PC turned out to be a GFX card or its driver issue... I got another mobo and another cards into my work PC and things work fine, but looks like Regen does not support 15bit color depth (the ATI Rage3D 2+ in the PC works on this in 16bit mode...). The card has too little memory to have 1280x1024 and some higher color depth...

Yep, 15-bit is not supported (who uses that?). But Regen (beta 3) should be fast enough to run on lower end PCs. So why don't you try it on your Win98 machine.

@Russian people:
Can someone please translate "HI! Я ОСТАНУСЬ НЕИЗВЕСТНЫМ" in english (or at least get his name from that). This guy has helped me and I want to include his name in changelog. Online translator are not translating correctly I think.

stay safe,

AamirM

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2245
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Postby TmEE co.(TM) » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:02 pm

That is on my 98SE machine :) My other machine has some Nvidia 8600GT in it and there's no issues.

I like how fast Regen has become, but I doubt I will get full 50/60 in 32x and MCD games once they get emulated......
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

http://www.tmeeco.eu

Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

TascoDLX
Very interested
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:18 pm

Postby TascoDLX » Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:36 pm

AamirM wrote:@Russian people:
Can someone please translate "HI! Я ОСТАНУСЬ НЕИЗВЕСТНЫМ" in english (or at least get his name from that). This guy has helped me and I want to include his name in changelog. Online translator are not translating correctly I think.

I'm not Russian but I believe it's "I shall remain unknown" (ya ostanus neizvestnym) with 'unknown' likely meaning 'anonymous'.

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Postby Shiru » Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:39 am

TascoDLX wrote:
AamirM wrote:@Russian people:
Can someone please translate "HI! Я ОСТАНУСЬ НЕИЗВЕСТНЫМ" in english (or at least get his name from that). This guy has helped me and I want to include his name in changelog. Online translator are not translating correctly I think.

I'm not Russian but I believe it's "I shall remain unknown" (ya ostanus neizvestnym) with 'unknown' likely meaning 'anonymous'.

I confirm this.


Return to “Regen”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest