Old Regen pages

AamirM's Regen forum

Moderator: AamirM

Locked
Sik
Very interested
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:03 pm
Contact:

Post by Sik » Mon May 05, 2008 9:54 pm

Am, OK :P
Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".

F1ReB4LL
Interested
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:46 pm
Contact:

Post by F1ReB4LL » Mon May 05, 2008 10:18 pm

AamirM wrote:IIRC, Windows changes the refresh rate on changing the resolution, so if it sets the refresh rate that is not a multiple of 50 Hz (for PAL) the syncing will be wrong.
lol, it can't be "not a multiple of 50 Hz", because it's a PAL signal for TV (not PAL60) :)

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Mon May 05, 2008 10:28 pm

It's very likely that it will be not multiple of 50 Hz, because only CRT monitors have 100 or 150 Hz refresh rate. Very likely that Windows sets 75 or 85 Hz which is much more common.

King Of Chaos
Very interested
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: United States

Post by King Of Chaos » Mon May 05, 2008 11:14 pm

Sik wrote:
King Of Chaos wrote:
tails92 wrote:Yes, it's possible to install Mac OS X on a normal PC, you just have to search for osx86.
But, it's not exactly legal. :P
I'm not sure of that. I think the main problem is that a Mac and a PC have completely different architechtures, so you need a completely (internally) different version of MacOSX for a PC (different processor if I'm not wrong, dammit :P).
Trust me, it is illegal, and against the licensing of OSX. You don't "own" the software, you know. :P But it's not like anyone cares. Hell, I even downloaded OSX86, and it works fine. :lol:

I wouldn't worry about the legalities, as long as you don't update. :) If you really want it to be semi-legal, purchase a copy of OSX and use the key and stuff for the "legit" feel, other than breaking the agreement. :lol:

Sik
Very interested
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:03 pm
Contact:

Post by Sik » Tue May 06, 2008 3:17 am

Shiru wrote:It's very likely that it will be not multiple of 50 Hz, because only CRT monitors have 100 or 150 Hz refresh rate. Very likely that Windows sets 75 or 85 Hz which is much more common.
Another reason because I like CRT monitors over LCDs. I know, they're bigger and take up more power, but the former doesn't really annoy me and the latter doesn't make much sense when you aren't on, let's say, a laptop. Also all supported resolutions will always look properly, not stretched. CRT monitors often don't support very high resolutions, but I never go over 1024x768, so... :P
King Of Chaos wrote:
Sik wrote:
King Of Chaos wrote: But, it's not exactly legal. :P
I'm not sure of that. I think the main problem is that a Mac and a PC have completely different architechtures, so you need a completely (internally) different version of MacOSX for a PC (different processor if I'm not wrong, dammit :P).
Trust me, it is illegal, and against the licensing of OSX. You don't "own" the software, you know. :P But it's not like anyone cares. Hell, I even downloaded OSX86, and it works fine. :lol:
You can purchase it and install it on a normal PC :P
King Of Chaos wrote:I wouldn't worry about the legalities, as long as you don't update. :) If you really want it to be semi-legal, purchase a copy of OSX and use the key and stuff for the "legit" feel, other than breaking the agreement. :lol:
But in that case you could just use the legit copy directly, right?

EDIT: add a header-safe option. You could do it in a per-game basis using a list. If a game is in the list, Regen should assume the header is OK and do exactly what it says. The main idea would be to make it able to run games with SRAM outside the $200000..$20FFFF area.
Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".

tails92
Interested
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:16 pm

Post by tails92 » Tue May 06, 2008 2:03 pm

Apple restricts Mac OS X to make it run only on Apple computers. It isn't supposed to run on any other.
And it's perfectly possible to update hacked versions, but you need to do a bit of "magic" by copying kernel extensions from the previous version and applying some patches.
I've done it from 10.4.10 to 10.4.11, I've not used Leopard at all because the ones I installed it on all had 256mb of ram.
But really, if we want to talk about this, let's do it somewhere else as it could go too off-topic

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Post by AamirM » Tue May 06, 2008 3:21 pm

How much the 'original' OSX costs?

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Tue May 06, 2008 3:30 pm

Leopard (10.5) - $130 for Single User licence.

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Post by AamirM » Tue May 06, 2008 3:40 pm

Holy crap!!!

That is way too expensive for me.

F1ReB4LL
Interested
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:46 pm
Contact:

Post by F1ReB4LL » Tue May 06, 2008 3:56 pm

Shiru wrote:It's very likely that it will be not multiple of 50 Hz, because only CRT monitors have 100 or 150 Hz refresh rate. Very likely that Windows sets 75 or 85 Hz which is much more common.
PAL TVs usually have 50 Hz exactly :) I'm talking about PAL TV on TV Out.

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Post by AamirM » Tue May 06, 2008 4:03 pm

Hi,

I am not fimiliar with connecting PC to TV so I may be wrong. But what is the refresh rate that Windows is showing?

stay safe,

AamirM

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Tue May 06, 2008 4:16 pm

I'm not sure that VSync will work with TV-out. 800x600 can be displayed through TV out, but it can't be displayed with TV timings directly.

Sik
Very interested
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:03 pm
Contact:

Post by Sik » Tue May 06, 2008 5:26 pm

AamirM wrote:Holy crap!!!

That is way too expensive for me.
Not as expensive as a legal Windows ;)
Shiru wrote:I'm not sure that VSync will work with TV-out. 800x600 can be displayed through TV out, but it can't be displayed with TV timings directly.
The reported refresh rate is halved and VSync works respect to it, right? (exactly the opposite case to interlaced mode in consoles)
Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".

AamirM
Very interested
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:23 am
Contact:

Post by AamirM » Tue May 06, 2008 5:49 pm

Hi,

I didn't had a legal copy of Windows before but I have it now. It was given to me by my University in return for a software I wrote for them.

stay safe,

AamirM

Shiru
Very interested
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:11 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Shiru » Tue May 06, 2008 6:02 pm

Sik wrote:Not as expensive as a legal Windows
Windows price is about same ($130 for Vista Home Premium SP1, $95 on Amazon for now). And you can get OEM version when buy new computer, it price will be included but much cheaper than retail versions anyway.
Sik wrote:The reported refresh rate is halved and VSync works respect to it, right?
I don't know exactly, but I doubt that it will be 50 Hz.

Locked