GEMS YouTube video

Talk about anything else you want

Moderator: BigEvilCorporation

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:56 pm

It looks like there was something else what was reading MIDI before dosemu, or something else. In that case best way is just reboot.
Image

User avatar
powerofrecall
Very interested
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by powerofrecall » Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:57 pm

Unfortunately I don't know how impressive the video will be. There is some latency that doesn't work well for realtime playback of many instruments. Recording seems to be fine, as it was before, so it is receiving all the events--just not fast enough for realtime tempo.

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:16 pm

powerofrecall wrote:There is some latency that doesn't work well for realtime playback of many instruments.
play with $_hogthreshold.
Also, I don't care about what MIDI you'll play, it can be anything:
1) that track what was in start of this topic.
2) MIDI downloaded from somewhere else.
Image

User avatar
powerofrecall
Very interested
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by powerofrecall » Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:39 pm

I'm working on a new tune for the video I'm going to make 8)

edit: I'm going to try $_hogthreshold out; I also recompiled retroarch with JACK sound support (low latency) and that helped slightly, but most of the latency is from dosemu it seems. We'll see how that goes, and once I put the video up I'll write up a big long post about how to set up a GEMS environment.

SoullessSentinel
Interested
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Grimsby, England

Post by SoullessSentinel » Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:37 am

I'm having trouble getting this working, I applied the patches in RetroArch, used a copy of GEMS 2.0 (I have the Megadrive ROM and PC software for this version, dated 11/21/91.

Anyway, I setup the Fifo, configured DOSEMU to use it for LPT, and ran the gems rom in the patched retroarch, some communication seems to happen as I can toggle through the debug information, and it updates to show correct information like the selected patches, however, I cannot get any sound to happen.

I loaded the demo tracks in the included SHIP demo, and I can't get retroarch to make any sound. I know it's not an issue with sound not working, as I can get sound in standard mega drive games.

Any ideas?

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:42 pm

Only one idea: maybe they changed protocol of communication.
I was testing on GEMS 2.8

STOP! I have idea! Did you cut off ALL in ROM from 0x10000 addresss? And you need to define SRAM region in ROM.
Bytes at 0x1B0: 'R','A','@', space = 0x20 and 00 01 00 00 00 03 FF FF FF

You can see it in my first video in this thread.

Hmm, but anyway try to restart everything. And do in following order:
1) Turn on Retroarch and select core, and select ROM
2) Start ROM
3) Run dosemu
4) Run GEMS application
5) Open module (ship sample)
open sequence, click play.
Image

SoullessSentinel
Interested
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Grimsby, England

Post by SoullessSentinel » Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:12 pm

Thanks, it works properly now, I just need to get midi hooked up.

I must've missed the part about enabling SRAM in the header.

User avatar
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2296
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:52 am

I finally found the schematic I made :

Image
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

User avatar
powerofrecall
Very interested
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by powerofrecall » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:25 pm

What's this? I haven't used it in a few days and when I opened it up I got this. It kind of looks like the debug display, but I haven't seen it before.

Image

User avatar
powerofrecall
Very interested
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by powerofrecall » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:30 pm

Never mind, I never noticed it before. The debug display has multiple pages if you select the menu more than once it seems.

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:54 pm

powerofrecall how is it going? :)
Image

SeregaZ
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:45 pm

Post by SeregaZ » Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:53 pm

this topic is a live? i have some code file with notes for gems. i check many of them and it have delay and duration commands. so max what i see was 96.
i think:
96 = 1
48 = 1\2
24 = 1\4
12 = 1\8
6 = 1\16
3 = 1\32

and stuck :) by my theory 3 is minimum what can be for delay or duration, but files have delay 1 and delay 2...

i think 1\64 must be 1.5, but it cant "eat" and show me error.

but then i think - delay 1 it is delay 0.75 and delay 2 it is 1.5 - can you check it? maybe gems have some table for convertaions? i mean read as 1, but play as 0.75 according to this table of rules. this delay 1 and delay 2 kills all my idea :(

r57shell
Very interested
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by r57shell » Mon Aug 03, 2015 1:39 pm

Most complete description about GEMS but rus
http://elektropage.ru/publ/o_prekrasnom ... r/2-1-0-71

Translated quote:
For each channel in memory keeps last value of duration and delay.
Both values are measured in 1/24 of Beat.
Frequency of Beat is set by tempo – command $68 "tempo".
If in sequence appear (encounter) command "delay" or "duration",
then new value stored.
Several duration commands appearing in row,
is representing one "duration" with value uniting significant bits in big-endian order,
so first byte - most significant bits,
second byte - less significant bits.
Same technique applied for "delay" commands.
That's why it's very useful to set 24 pulses per quarter in MIDI.
Image

User avatar
powerofrecall
Very interested
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:35 pm
Location: USA

Re: GEMS YouTube video

Post by powerofrecall » Sun Nov 01, 2015 3:33 pm

I haven't posted in this thread forever but I'd just like everyone to know I have settled on using GEMS in my game (copyright issues be damned!) and I will try to post a video of how this works eventually for anyone who wants to see without diving into it.

SeregaZ
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:45 pm

Re: GEMS YouTube video

Post by SeregaZ » Sun Nov 29, 2015 7:00 pm

i have a lot of ideas about it, but i am not have knowledge to create awesome software :) i mean midi 2 gems. so i am still loocking gems instruments, that more like PC-midi sounds (all 127 instruments). now my instruments is not very...

old bad converter no have loops, have bad note length count and sounds some like this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZJHrQPVbUo

new on converter still didnt work properly :) too big ideas too small code... now it have work most fuction, exept main - converting :)
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest