PCB design software

For hardware talk only (please avoid ROM dumper stuff)
Post Reply
TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

PCB design software

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:32 pm

I have been trying out various PCB design software packages lately and I'e found that Minimal Board Editor is the choice for me, FreePCB following.

I did this MD cart which uses 27C322 EPROM and battery backed 62256 SRAM as an excercise :

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/4/21/ ... ercise.png

It took about 4 hours to complete, if I used free PCB I'd be still working on it :P

Program can be found here : http://www.suigyodo.com/online/e/index.htm

Only downside is that it comes with no component library. I have made a bunch of components to use and if anyone wants I can send you some and help you get started.

Gerbers of the board available on request ^^
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

Chilly Willy
Very interested
Posts: 2767
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:33 pm

Post by Chilly Willy » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:53 am

Looks like a good app, and it just updated today!
:D

HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:38 am

Nice. And what about Eagle?

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:15 am

Last time I tried Eagle I could not get into it... and I downloaded the free version some moments ago and it does not seem to let me make a board... does it require a schematic made in the program beforehand ?
Chilly Willy wrote:Looks like a good app, and it just updated today!
:D
It updated with my e-mail where I asked about offline manual, and he put the online manual as download on the site ^^
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:32 am

TmEE co.(TM) wrote:does it require a schematic made in the program beforehand ?
No, it doesn't. You can assign connections between pins by hand.

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:01 am

it did not let me place components... said that Free Edition cannot do it, see help for more info...
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:13 am

TmEE co.(TM) wrote:it did not let me place components... said that Free Edition cannot do it, see help for more info...
What I'm doing wrong?

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:50 am

I don't go to school so no educational license and getting one somehow would be more or less pirating, and its not exactly what I want for what I am doing slowly...

...or I misunderstood everything :P (I do see same screen on about page)
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Tue Apr 26, 2011 12:16 pm


Pascal
Very interested
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:29 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Pascal » Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:22 pm

i'd say linux with KDE

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:08 pm

No, its Win98SE with KernelEx and Revolutions Pack 9 :P
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:36 am

TmEE co.(TM) wrote:No, its Win98SE with KernelEx and Revolutions Pack 9 :P
And you call it "FREE" too? :3

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:42 am

I got the license for it :P (though I am breaching the EULA with KernelEx)
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:10 am

TmEE co.(TM) wrote:I got the license for it :P (though I am breaching the EULA with KernelEx)
KernelEx got license from MS to change kernel.dll? Becouse otherwise it is not legal. Read EULA. :3

TmEE co.(TM)
Very interested
Posts: 2370
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: Estonia, Rapla City
Contact:

Post by TmEE co.(TM) » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:49 am

no, I meant I got Win98SE license, but I am breaching it with KernelEx because it messes with Kernel32.dll
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)
http://www.tmeeco.eu
Files of all broken links and images of mine are found here : http://www.tmeeco.eu/FileDen

Post Reply