Decapping more Genesis chips

For hardware talk only (please avoid ROM dumper stuff)
Sauraen
Interested

Decapping more Genesis chips

Post by Sauraen » Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:03 pm

This is a continuation of discussion about decapping from the YM2612 thread at viewtopic.php?f=24&t=386&start=750

I am a post-bac electrical engineering student at a major university in the US, and for my independent study research this semester I've been reverse engineering the YM2612 (some results at the link above). For various reasons (differences between YM2612/YM3438/integrated versions), the subject of decapping more Genesis chips came up. I have access to a professional microscope with micron resolution used for optoelectronics work in the department, and I MAY have access to a lab where I can do chemical decapping (lots of details are up in the air for now). If I end up not having access to this lab, I'm willing to pay to have one chip professionally decapped, and then do the photography. (Also, if anyone wants to send me decapped chips, I can photograph them as well.)

If I am able to do chemical decapping, I will want to do a batch at once of a whole bunch of different chips that are relevant. In this case, I will need recommendations for what chips to do, and preferably people willing to send me some of them (I have a non-reparable US Genesis II VA1.8 with the chip 315-5660-02 which I can sacrifice, as well as discrete YM2612 and YM3438).

If I have to only pick one, which one is best? Nemesis has suggested the ASIC from the VA2 Genesis 3--could someone explain how this is different from the ASIC in any other Genesis 3 (VA1?). Also, since everyone knows how the 68000 and Z80 work, and this chip is just the Genesis 2 plus those CPUs, what's the benefit to using this over a Genesis 2 ASIC?