Just a Simple Cartridge Port Probing Adapter

For hardware talk only (please avoid ROM dumper stuff)
Post Reply
User avatar
db-electronics
Very interested
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:04 pm
Location: Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Just a Simple Cartridge Port Probing Adapter

Post by db-electronics » Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:56 pm

I made a simple pass-through cartridge PCB to facilitate probing cartridge signals using an oscilloscope or logic analyser. All signals are labelled on both top and bottom silkscreen. It'll also permit to easily inject signals in into the console (i.e. from an FPGA dev board).

Image

full write up here:
http://www.db-elec.com/home/lab-posts/s ... evhardware
What does db stand for? Well that's an excellent question...
http://www.db-electronics.ca

User avatar
Jazzmarazz
Very interested
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:11 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Jazzmarazz » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:02 pm

Hey db, looks nice. Reminds me of the probe board I made for gameboy....sadly these things don't want to sell.
http://store.kitsch-bent.com/product/kk_gb_brkout

User avatar
db-electronics
Very interested
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:04 pm
Location: Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by db-electronics » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:05 pm

Jazzmarazz wrote:sadly these things don't want to sell
I know, the main intent is definitely not to sell, but I figured I'd post it here in case some people would need one (I know I need one!)
What does db stand for? Well that's an excellent question...
http://www.db-electronics.ca

User avatar
Jazzmarazz
Very interested
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:11 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Jazzmarazz » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:14 pm

Indeed!

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 715
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Fri Nov 14, 2014 6:03 am

I've made my own:
Image
It's made specially for Altera DE0 board and use 2 IDE ribbon cables.
Image

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:52 am

You use it directly without level shifter ?

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 715
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:47 pm

bastien wrote:You use it directly without level shifter ?
Yes. Not a serial design.

bastien
Very interested
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Besançon,France
Contact:

Post by bastien » Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:17 pm

I don 't think FPGA cyclone III I/O pins are 5V tolerant.
Maybe i don't understand your goal or your cart isn't complete ?

User avatar
db-electronics
Very interested
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:04 pm
Location: Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by db-electronics » Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:21 pm

bastien wrote:I don 't think FPGA cyclone III I/O pins are 5V tolerant.
Maybe i don't understand your goal or your cart isn't complete ?
You can't input 5V directly to a Cyclone FPGA, but the chip design allows for a series resistor on 5V inputs to limit the current flow in the PCI clamping diode. See this appnote from altera:

http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/cyc/cyc_c51011.pdf

That being said, not sure if the Altera DE0 provides those resistors.

Edit: the PCI clamping diodes are not active during configuration so you need to make absolutely sure to not drive any 5V signals in the FPGA until configuration is complete else damage could result.
What does db stand for? Well that's an excellent question...
http://www.db-electronics.ca

User avatar
HardWareMan
Very interested
Posts: 715
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Kazakhstan, Pavlodar

Post by HardWareMan » Sat Nov 15, 2014 4:47 am

bastien wrote:I don 't think FPGA cyclone III I/O pins are 5V tolerant.
Maybe i don't understand your goal or your cart isn't complete ?
You shouldn't understand this. Continue with your own. And yes, I've use some modified ribbon cables.

User avatar
MintyTheCat
Very interested
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by MintyTheCat » Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:27 pm

HardWareMan wrote:
bastien wrote:I don 't think FPGA cyclone III I/O pins are 5V tolerant.
Maybe i don't understand your goal or your cart isn't complete ?
You shouldn't understand this. Continue with your own. And yes, I've use some modified ribbon cables.
Yes, Hardwareman seems to like to live dangerously and he has some odd ideas about handdrawn schematics vs. those created using Schematic-Capture but each to their own....
UMDK Fanboy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests