RGB FTW

For hardware talk only (please avoid ROM dumper stuff)
Post Reply
Graz
Very interested
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:36 am
Location: Orlando, FL

RGB FTW

Post by Graz » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:43 am

It's been ages since I posted... Anyway, I did an RGB mod to one of my model 2 systems and ended up adding a VGA connector to it.

Image

The mod's pretty simple - it's just decoupling capacitors and 75 ohm resistors. In theory, all you need is a VGA cable and a suitable monitor and you're good to go. But, it's almost impossible to find a modern VGA monitor that'll sync to 15Khz. Some TVs with VGA inputs might, but I haven't really tried. To get around this, I've gotten hold of an Extron DVS 204 video scaler (link). This will take pretty much anything in (including S-video, composite, and RGB) and output VGA or component.

This is the rig:

Image

Connecting the regular composite output through it gives this:

Image

However, connecting via the RGB gives this:

Image

This is the same console, the same VGA scaler and the same monitor - only the choice of coupling from the Genesis to the scaler is different. The scaler is upscaling to 1024x768. Unfortunately, the scaler doesn't output the native resolution of my VGA flat panel, so it's getting scaled again. Regardless, it's a pretty major improvement and far better than anything I've seen on a TV.

Close-up (composite):

Image

.. and RGB:

Image

Hooray for RGB.

djcouchycouch
Very interested
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

Post by djcouchycouch » Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:42 am

Very nice!

KanedaFr
Administrateur
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:56 am
Contact:

Post by KanedaFr » Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:07 pm

I'm actually very interested into this kind of stuff :
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=35423

with give this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOeC5PdbkBM

this way I would at last be possible to connect my Genny on my LCD
the only option missing is PIP so I could code and see my game playing at the same time !
I found a VGA box which did this but not scale line...
so 2 solutions, none is perfect :(

for 15KHz monitor, follow this link http://www.cocopedia.com/wiki/index.php ... A_Monitors

Huge
Very interested
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:50 pm

Post by Huge » Mon Jun 25, 2012 10:34 pm

I have a VGA connector added to one of my Saturns. Since I don't have an upscaler, nor a 15khz monitor, I can only use it with two homebrew titles. But hey, it's still pretty cool!


Post Reply